MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)

STATE OF MAINE 119TH LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION

BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

JULY 2000

MEMBERS: Sen. Carol A. Kontos, Chair Sen. Susan W. Longley Sen. Bruce W. MacKinnon

Rep. Gary L. O'Neal, Chair Rep. Rosaire J. Sirois Rep. Verdi L. Tripp Rep. Ronald E. Usher Rep. Brian Bolduc Rep. Jean Ginn Marvin Rep. David E. Bowles Rep. Harold A. Clough Rep. Stavros J. Mendros Rep. Kevin L. Shorey

Staff: Susan Johannesman, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis 13 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333 (207)287-1670



Maine State Legislature OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

13 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0013 Telephone: (207) 287-1670 Fax: (207) 287-1275

ONE HUNDRED NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION

Summary Of Legislation Before The Joint Standing Committees July 2000

We are pleased to provide this summary of bills that were considered by the Joint Standing and Select Committees of the Maine Legislature this past session. The document is a compilation of bill summaries which describe each bill and relevant amendments, as well as the final action taken. Also included are statistical summaries of bill activity this session for the Legislature and each of its joint standing and select committees.

The document is organized for convenient reference to information on bills considered by the committees. It is organized by committees and within committees by bill (LD) number. The committee report(s), prime sponsor for each bill and the lead co-sponsor(s), if designated, are listed below each bill title. All adopted amendments are listed by paper number. Two indices, a subject index and a numerical index by LD number are provided for easy reference to bills. They are located at the back of the document. A separate publication, <u>History and Final Disposition of Legislative Documents</u>, may also be helpful in providing information on the disposition of bills. These bill summaries also are available at the Law and Legislative Reference Library and on the Internet (www.state.me.us/legis/opla).

Final action on each bill is noted to the right of the bill title. The abbreviations used for various categories of final action are as follows:

CON RES XXXCh	napter # of Constitutional Resolution passed by both Houses
DIED BETWEEN BODIES	House & Senate disagree; bill died
	ccepts ONTP report; the other indefinitely postpones the bill
	Action incomplete when session ended; bill died
EMERGENCY	Enacted law takes effect sooner than 90 days
FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT/FINAL PASSAGE	Emergency bill failed to get 2/3 vote
FAILED ENACTMENT/FINAL PASSAGE	Bill failed to get majority vote
FAILED MANDATE ENACTMENT	Bill imposing local mandate failed to get 2/3 vote
NOT PROPERLY BEFORE THE BODY	Ruled out of order by the presiding officers; bill died
INDEF PP	Bill Indefinitely Postponed
ONTP	Ought Not To Pass report accepted
OTP ND	Committee report Ought To Pass In New Draft
OTP ND/NT	Committee report Ought To Pass In New Draft/New Title
P&S XXX	Chapter # of enacted Private & Special LawChapter # of enacted Public Law
PUBLIC XXX	Chapter # of enacted Public Law
RESOLVE XXX	Chapter # of finally passed Resolve
UNSIGNED	Bill held by GovernorLegislature failed to override Governor's Veto
VETO SUSTAINED	Legislature failed to override Governor's Veto

Please note the effective date for all non-emergency legislation enacted in the Second Regular Session (unless otherwise specified in a particular law) is August 11, 2000.

- 3. Attract high-tech and high-wage jobs; and
- 4. Promote a stable economic environment through the review of current rules and regulations and taxes and make any necessary changes.

LD 2142

An Act to Change Laws Pertaining to the Loring Development Authority of Maine

DIED BETWEEN BODIES

Sponsor(s)	Committee	Report	Amendments Adopted
O'NEAL	OTP-AM	MAJ	
	ONTP	MIN	

LD 2142 was carried over from the First Regular Session and proposed to reconfigure the composition of the board of trustees for the Loring Development Authority of Maine so that the City of Caribou, the Town of Caswell and the Town of Limestone would each nominate one member to the board; 3 members of the board would be nominated by any other municipality in Aroostook County; and one member would be nominated by the county commissioners of Aroostook County. This bill also proposed to allow the current members of the board of trustees to finish their terms and the reconfigured board to be phased in as the current members' terms expire.

Committee Amendment "A" (H-924) proposed to reconfigure the composition of the board of trustees for the Loring Development Authority of Maine. Under the amendment, 6 of the trustees would be appointed as follows: the City of Caribou, the Town of Limestone, the Town of Caswell, the Town of Fort Fairfield, the City of Presque Isle and the Town of Van Buren would each nominate 1 trustee who was a resident of Aroostook County. If one of these municipalities did not submit a nomination, the Governor would appoint a trustee nominated by any municipality in Aroostook County. One Aroostook County trustee would be nominated by any municipality in Aroostook County, excluding the municipalities specifically identified as a nominating municipality. Four trustees would not be residents of Aroostook County. One trustee would reside anywhere in Maine. Committee Amendment "A" was not adopted.

House Amendment "A" to Committee Amendment "A" (H-1019) proposed to clarify the method for filling vacancies on the board. House Amendment "A" was not adopted.

Senate Amendment "A" to Committee Amendment "A" (S-604) proposed to clarify that for the 6 specifically identified municipalities, the Governor would appoint a trustee from a list of nominations submitted by the municipality. Senate Amendment "A" was not adopted.

Senate Amendment "B" to Committee Amendment "A" (S-635) proposed to revise the appointment process for the 7 trustees from Aroostook County by requiring the Governor to select 7 trustees from a pool of nominees submitted by the City of Caribou, the Town of Limestone, the Town of Caswell, the Town of Fort Fairfield, the City of Presque Isle, the Town of Van Buren and the county commissioners of Aroostook County. Senate Amendment "B" was not adopted.