MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 115TH LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION AND FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

AUGUST 1991

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Stephen C. Estes Sen. Dale McCormick Sen. Linda Curtis Brawn

*Rep. Nathaniel J. Crowley, Sr.
Rep. James. R. Handy
Rep. William B. O'Gara
Rep. James V. Oliver
Rep. John J. O'Dea
Rep. Mary F. Cahill
Rep. Sophia Douglass Pfeiffer
Rep. Omar P. Norton
Rep. Wendy L. Ault
Rep. Alvin L. Barth, Jr.

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

David C. Elliott, Principal Analyst
Michael D. Higgins, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
VILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR., PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
)AVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ON CLARK
)YAN M. DYTTMER
GRO FLATEBO
)EBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
MICHAEL D. HIGGINS
ANE ORBETON



JOHN B. KNOX
PATRICK NORTON
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
MILA M. DWELLEY, RES. ASST.
ROY W. LENARDSON, RES. ASST.
BRET A. PRESTON, RES. ASST.

KAREN L. HRUBY

JILL IPPOLITI

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION AND FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES

AUGUST 1991

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The volume is organized alphabetically by committee; within each committee, the summaries are arranged by LD number. A subject index is provided at the beginning of each committee's summaries.

All adopted amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H - 584 or S - 222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action on each bill is listed to the right of the title. Various types of final action are abbreviated as follows:

PUBLIC XXX Chapter # of enacted Public Law P&S XXX Chapter # of enacted Private & Special Law RESOLVE XXX Chapter # of enacted Resolve CON RES XXX Chapter # of Constitutional Resolution passed by both Houses **EMERGENCY** Enacted law takes effect sooner than 90 days CARRIED OVER Bill carried over to 2nd Session FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT Bill failed to get 2/3 vote ONTP Ought Not to Pass report accepted **LVWD** Leave to Withdraw report accepted INDEF PP Bill Indefinitely Postponed **DIED BETWEEN BODIES** House & Senate disagree; bill died Legislature failed to override Governor's Veto **VETO SUSTAINED** Not signed by Governor within 10 days UNSIGNED DIED ON ADJOURNMENT Action incomplete when 1st session ended

These summaries were prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

If you have any suggestions or comments on these summaries, please let us know.

The bill also required that speed limits within property owned by or under the control of the University of Maine System be established by the Department of Transportation and the Maine State Police. The University of Maine System was required to post the speed limits under the direction or policies of the Department of Transportation.

Committee Amendment "A" (S-80) added an emergency preamble and an emergency clause to the original bill. It also added a provision requiring the Board of Trustees of the University of Maine System to hear citizen input at each board meeting and guaranteed that each citizen may address the board for a period of time established by the board.

LD 882

An Act to Amend the Laws Concerning Certification of Educational Personnel

UNSIGNED

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

ESTES

OTP-AM

S-253

CROWLEY

- ...

S-431 BRANNIGAN

NORTON CAHILL M

SUMMARY

The bill provided for professional certification of experienced out-of-state teachers, permitted professionally certified teachers to teach one period per day out of their certified subject area or grade level and established a specific timetable during which appeals from certification denials or revocations must be heard and decided.

The Committee Amendment (S-253) clarifies the circumstances in which an out-of-state teacher will be granted professional certification. The amendment deletes the provisions of the bill governing out-of-field teaching and the appeals process and directs the Department of Education and the State Board of Education to study those issues and to report back to the Joint Standing Committee on Education with recommendations. The amendment also adds new provisions to the bill abolishing the use of minimum qualifying test scores to prevent applicants from attaining provisional certification. Block grants for teacher certification costs incurred at the local level are redirected from municipalities to school administrative units in the amendment. Finally, the amendment makes technical changes in the bill, adds an emergency preamble and emergency clause and adds an appropriation section and a fiscal note.

The Senate Amendment (S-431) made a technical addition to the Committee Amendment to allow the block grant to go directly to school units.

An Act to Establish a Budget Authority within School Administrative Districts

ONTP

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

CAHILL P

ONTP

SUMMARY

This bill would have authorized the creation of district budget authorities to assist the board of directors of a school administrative district in formulating the district's budget. Before July 1, 1992 the municipalities comprising each school administrative district would vote on whether or not to form a district budget authority. If a majority of voters in the district approved formation, the district budget authority would be created consisting of 11 members elected proportionally from the district's municipalities based on the number of students from each municipality attending school in the district. Members would have served 2-year terms.