MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

JUNE 1990

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Georgette B. Berube Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr. Sen. David L. Carpenter

*Rep. Ruth Joseph
Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi
Rep. Beverly C. Daggett
Rep. Conrad Heeschen
Rep. Anne M. Larrivee
Rep. Mary F. Cahill
Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth
Rep. Jeanne F. Begley
Rep. Dana C. Hanley
Rep. John S. McCormick, Jr.

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

Patrick T. Norton, Legislative Analyst Gilbert Brewer, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
JULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
GILBERT W. BREWER
TODD R. BURROWES
GRO FLATEBO
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
JOHN B. KNOX



STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670 PATRICK NORTON
HARTLEY PALLESCHI
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
JOHN R. SELSER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
JILL IPPOLITI, RES. ASST.
BARBARA A. MCGINN, RES. ASST.
BRET A. PRESTON, RES. ASST.

One Hundred and Fourteenth Legislature Second Regular Session

> Joint Standing Committee Bill Summaries

> > June 1990

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP-ND
OTP-ND-NT
OTP-A
ONTP
LVWD
INDEF PP

Ought to Pass
Ought to Pass in New Draft
Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
Ought to Pass as Amended
Ought Not to Pass
Leave to Withdraw
Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

LD 2478 Resolve, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing

Expenditures of Aroostook County for the Year 1990 (Reported

Pursuant to Joint Order, HP1484)

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

LD 2478 enacted the 1990 Aroostook County budget.

LD 2479

Resolve, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing

RESOLVE 82 EMERGENCY

RESOLVE 94

EMERGENCY

Expenditures of Sagadahoc County for the Year 1990 (Reported

Pursuant to Joint Order, HP1484)

SPONSOR(S) COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

LD 2479 enacted the 1990 Sagadahoc County budget.

LD 2480

Resolve, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing

RESOLVE 81 EMERGENCY

Expenditures of Lincoln County for the Year 1990 (Reported

Pursuant to Joint Order, HP1484)

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

LD 2480 enacted the 1990 Lincoln County budget.

LD 2481

Resolve, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing

RESOLVE 80

Expenditures of Knox County for the Year 1990 (Reported EMERGENCY

Pursuant to Joint Order, HP1484)

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

LD 2481 enacted the 1990 Knox County budget.

LD 2487

Resolve, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing Expenditures of Franklin County for the Year 1990 (Reported

RESOLVE 79

EMERGENCY

Pursuant to Joint Order, HP1484)

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

LD 2487 enacted the 1990 Franklin County budget.