MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AFFAIRS

JUNE 1990

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Zachary E. Matthews Sen. John E. Baldacci Sen. Robert G. Dillenback

*Rep. Charles R. Priest
Rep. Norman R. Paul
Rep. John Jalbert
Rep. Jo Anne D. Lapointe
Rep. Mark W. Lawrence
Rep. Charles C. Plourde
Rep. Eleanor M. Murphy
Rep. Jeanne F. Begley
Rep. Albert G. Stevens
Rep. Helen M. Tupper

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

Todd R. Burrowes, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
JULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
GILBERT W. BREWER
TODD R. BURROWES
GRO FLATEBO
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
JOHN B. KNOX



STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670 PATRICK NORTON
HARTLEY PALLESCHI
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
JOHN R. SELSER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
JILL IPPOLITI, RES. ASST.
BARBARA A. MCGINN, RES. ASST.
BRET A. PRESTON, RES. ASST.

One Hundred and Fourteenth Legislature Second Regular Session

> Joint Standing Committee Bill Summaries

> > June 1990

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP-ND
OTP-ND-NT
OTP-A
ONTP
LVWD
INDEF PP

Ought to Pass
Ought to Pass in New Draft
Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
Ought to Pass as Amended
Ought Not to Pass
Leave to Withdraw
Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

LD 2436

An Act to Authorize Franklin County to Acquire a Parcel of

Land in Coburn Gore

FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

WEBSTER C DEXTER OTP-AM ONTP MAJ MIN

SUMMARY

This bill permits Franklin County to acquire the site of the Coburn Gore landfill in return for its agreement to indemnify and hold harmless the current owner regarding all aspects of the landfill's operation.

LD 2449

Resolve, Authorizing Rommy Haines to Present a Claim for 3rd-party Damages to a Board of Arbitration a 2nd Time

LV/WD

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

MAHANY

LV/WD

LISNIK

MCGOWAN

PEARSON

SUMMARY

This resolve allows Rommy Haines to present a claim for 3rd-party damages to a Board of Arbitration a 2nd time. The claim is for damages suffered as a result of an oil discharge, which killed fish Mr. Haines was raising for sale.

LD 2452

Resolve, Authorizing the Alna Store, Incorporated and Its

LV/WD

LV/WD

Proprietors to Sue the State

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

KILKELLY

HOLLOWAY

SUMMARY

This resolve allows the Alna Store, Incorporated and its proprietors, Bruce and Anne Young, to sue the State for damages they suffered as a result of an erroneous order by the Department of Environmental Protection to remove an underground oil tank.