

# STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



# BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

JUNE 1990

### **MEMBERS:**

\*Sen. Georgette B. Berube Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr. Sen. David L. Carpenter

\*Rep. Ruth Joseph Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi Rep. Beverly C. Daggett Rep. Conrad Heeschen Rep. Anne M. Larrivee Rep. Mary F. Cahill Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth Rep. Jeanne F. Begley Rep. Dana C. Hanley Rep. John S. McCormick, Jr.

Staff: Patrick T. Norton, Legislative Analyst Gilbert Brewer, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670

\*Denotes Chair

MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST JULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST GILBERT W. BREWER TODD R. BURROWES GRO FLATEBO DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN JOHN B. KNOX



PATRICK NORTON HARTLEY PALLESCHI MARGARET J. REINSCH PAUL J. SAUCIER JOHN R. SELSER HAVEN WHITESIDE JILL IPPOLITI, RES. ASST. BARBARA A. MCGINN, RES. ASST. BRET A. PRESTON, RES. ASST.

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

One Hundred and Fourteenth Legislature Second Regular Session

## Joint Standing Committee Bill Summaries

June 1990

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

#### An Act to Provide Health Insurance Options for Public LD 1868 Employers and Employees

SPONSOR(S)	COMMIT	TEE REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED
DAGGETT	OTP-AM	MAJ	
PERKINS	ONTP	MIN	
MAY0			
RYDELL			

### SUMMARY

LD 1868 originally provided employees of nonstate political subdivisions who participate in the Maine State Retirement System the option of purchasing health insurance from the State Employee Health Insurance Program.

Committee Amendment "A" (H-807) to LD 1868, the majority report of the Committee, replaced the entire bill with a mandate that, effective July 1, 1991, counties, municipalities, and quasi-municipal organizations may not form or be members of a self-funded health insurance program unless the program's board includes at least two municipal public employees.

LD 1907	An Act Modifying the Territory of the Northport Village Corporation (BY REQUEST)			
	<b>SPONSOR(S)</b> MARSANO	COMMITTEE REPORT ONTP	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED	
SUMMARY				

LD 1907 proposed to remove a portion of the Northport Village Corporation from the village corporation.

LD 1911 MAJ (OTP-AM) An Act to Establish Certain Positions within the Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation as Unclassified State Positions Subject to the State Employees Labor Relations Act

SPONSOR(S)	COMMITTEE REPORT		AMENDMENTS ADOPTED	
JOSEPH	OTP-AM	MAJ	H-819	MAJ REP
NORTON	ONTP	MIN	H-849	TAMMARO
BURKE				
CARROLL D				

### SUMMAR Y

LD 1911 originally removed an existing requirement that physicians within the Department of Mental health and Mental Retardation waive their collective bargaining rights in order to obtain pay adjustments.

Committee Amendment "A" (H819) to LD 1911, the majority report of the Committee, amended the bill by defining all physicians within the Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation as unclassified positions subject to the State Employees Labor Relations Act. Under this amendment, physicians within that department are members of a bargaining unit for the purposes of collective bargaining. The amendment freezes the existing salary structure for physicians within that department and requires that negotiations for a new compensation package begin prior to September 1, 1990.

House Amendment "A" (H-849) to Committee Amendment "A" was a technical amendment on behalf of the Committee on Bills in the Second Reading.