

STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT PART I - STATE GOVERNMENT

JULY 1989

MEMBERS

Sen. Georgette B. Berube * Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr. Sen. David L. Carpenter

Rep. Ruth Joseph * Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi Rep. Beverly C. Daggett Rep. Dan A. Gwadosky Rep. Conrad Heeschen Rep. Anne M. Larrivee Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth Rep. Jeanne F. Begley Rep. Dana C. Hanley Rep. John S. McCormick, Jr.

* Denotes Chair

Staff: Ted Potter, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 1ARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR VILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST ULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST)AVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST)ILBERT W. BREWER ODD R. BURROWES)RO FLATEBO)EBORAH C. FRIEDMAN OHN B. KNOX



ANNIKA E. LANE EDWARD POTTER MARGARET J. REINSCH LARS H. RYDELL JOHN R. SELSER HAVEN WHITESIDE CAROLYN J. CHICK, RES. ASST ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR., RES ASST

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES AUGUST 1989

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Research Assistant Barbara McGinn, and secretaries: Charlene Brann, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

<u>SPONSOR(S)</u>	COMMITTEE REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED
SHELTRA	LV/WD	

SUMMARY

LD 1610 proposed that no more than 3 members of the Real Estate Commission be members of the same political party and that the 2 remaining members shall be from a major political party.

The bill failed to obtain committee approval because there was no basis for "singling out" one commission for membership revision based on political party affiliation.

LD 1626	Resolve, Concerning the Capitol Area	the Development of a New Maste	er Plan f	or	NOT SIGNED AS OF 7-25-89
<u>SPONSOR(S)</u> MARTIN J PRAY WEBSTER M CAHILL P		<u>COMMITTEE REPORT</u> OTP-AM	<u>AMENDME</u> H–551 S–433	NTS_ADOPTED PEARSON	

SUMMARY

LD 1626 proposed to create the Commission on the New Capitol Area Master Plan composed of 21 members from the Legislature, the Judicial branch, the Executive branch, the City of Augusta, and the State Capitol Commission. The commission would:

- A. oversee the selection of a master planner
- B. participate in the development of the plan

C. report to the Second Regular Session of the 114th Legislature with the master plan and any necessary implementing legislation.

LD 1626 also proposed to establish a 180-day moratorium on the sale or transfer of land and on construction in the Capitol Area following approval of the Resolve.

The Committee Amendment removed the 180 day moratorium and significantly revised the composition of the Commission. The Commission was changed to an ad-hoc committee, composed of 29 members, and included greater representation from the Augusta area, the Capitol Planning Commission, and the State Capitol Commission (named changed to State House and Capitol Park Commission). The ad-hoc committee would engage a master planner for the development of a new master plan for the capitol district. The ad-hoc committee would issue findings and recommendations to the Capitol Planning Commission and issue reports to the Governor and Legislative Council.

The Senate Amendment changed the ad-hoc committee to a 23 member special committee. The special committee is required to issue a progress report no later than January 1, 1990, and a preliminary report no later than April 1, 1990, to include a complete conceptual design for the master plan. A final report, including a detailed design of the master plan is required by January 15, 1991.

Office of Policy and Legal AnalysisPage 34
State and Local Government/Part 1

LV/WD