MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT PART II - LOCAL GOVERNMENT

JULY 1989

MEMBERS

Sen. Georgette B. Berube *
Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr.
Sen. David L. Carpenter

Rep. Ruth Joseph *

Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi

Rep. Beverly C. Daggett

Rep. Dan A. Gwadosky

Rep. Conrad Heeschen

Rep. Anne M. Larrivee

Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth

Rep. Jeanne F. Begley

Rep. Dana C. Hanley

Rep. John S. McCormick, Jr.

* Denotes Chair

Staff: Gilbert Brewer, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 1ARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
VILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
TILBERT W. BREWER
ODD R. BURROWES
TRO FLATEBO
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
OHN B. KNOX



STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL: (207) 289-1670 ANNIKA E. LANE
EDWARD POTTER
MARGARET J. REINSCH
LARS H. RYDELL
JOHN R. SELSER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
CAROLYN J. CHICK, RES. ASST
ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST
HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR., RES. ASST

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
BILL SUMMARIES
AUGUST 1989

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Research Assistant Barbara McGinn, and secretaries: Charlene Brann, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

LD 294

An Act Relating to the Knox County Budget Process

LV/WD

LV/WD

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

MCCORMICK

BRAWN

SKOGLUND

HUTCHINS

SUMMARY

LD 294 proposed to create an advisory budget committee for Knox County to be elected by municipal officers in the county.

LD 303

An Act to Establish a Process for the Deorganization of Municipalities and Plantations

PUBLIC 216 **EMERGENCY**

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

WENTWORTH

OTP-AM

H-167

CARROLL D

H-238 HEESCHEN

GOULD R R

SMITH

SUMMARY

LD 303 proposed to establish a uniform process of municipal deorganization. A municipality would have to hold a meeting upon the petition of at least 10% of the town voters to consider whether the town wanted to pursue the process of deorganization. If the voters approved further action, the municipal officers would appoint a 3 to 5 member deorganization committee to develop a deorganization plan. The contents of this plan were prescribed in the LD to ensure that adequate information on the effects of deorganization was presented to the voters. The LD also established the 5-member Commission on Municipal Deorganization, composed of relevant state officials and a county commissioner from the affected county to assist local deorganization committees. After the deorganization plan was developed, a public hearing would be conducted at which the voters would approve or disapprove the plan as presented or amend it. If the deorganization plan was approved, it would require approval by the Legislature, which would be conditioned upon a final vote by the town approving deorganization. Deorganization would be effective only if the town voted to deorganize after Legislative approval.

Committee Amendment "A" (H-167) made the following changes:

- 1. Standardized the notice requirements for all meetings required to be held under the LD;
- 2. Provided for a 5-member local deorganization committee to be elected by the voters;
- 3. Replaced the term "deorganization plan" with "deorganization procedure;"
- 4. Required the Commission on Municipal Deorganization to develop a deorganization procedure if the local committee failed to do so;
- 5. Required the county commissioner member of the Commission to represent the commissioner district in which the town proposing to deorganize was located; and
- 6. Required a separate public hearing to be held on the proposed deorganization procedure before it is presented to the town voters.