MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 114TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

JULY 1989

MEMBERS

Sen. R. Donald Twitchell * Sen. Raynold Theriault Sen. Robert R. Gould

Rep. Fred W. Moholland *
Rep. Harold M. Macomber
Rep. Jeffery N. Mills
Rep. Hilda C. Martin
Rep. Mona Walker Hale
Rep. Robert E. Hussey, Jr.
Rep. Orland G. McPherson
Rep. Donald A. Strout
Rep. Clyde A. Hichborn
Rep. Ronald C. Bailey

* Denotes Chair

Staff: Haven Whiteside, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State'House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 1ARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
VILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
TILBERT W. BREWER
ODD R. BURROWES
TRO FLATEBO
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
OHN B. KNOX



STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL: (207) 289-1670 ANNIKA E. LANE
EDWARD POTTER
MARGARET J. REINSCH
LARS H. RYDELL
JOHN R. SELSER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
CAROLYN J. CHICK, RES. ASST
ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST
HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR., RES. ASST

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
BILL SUMMARIES
AUGUST 1989

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number for each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are abbreviated as follows:

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Research Assistant Barbara McGinn, and secretaries: Charlene Brann, and Valarie Parlin, and especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

Joint Standing Committee on Transportation

LD 6 Resolve, to Provide for a Commemorative Motor Vehicle
License Plate to Celebrate the Sesquicentennial of Aroostook
County

RESOLVE 2
EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

MARTIN J

OTP-AM

H-5

S-3 BUSTIN

LISNIK COLLINS

THERIAULT

SUMMARY

1989 is the 150th anniversary of the establishment of Aroostook County.

CA (H-5) This amendment replaces the bill, but retains the concept, authorizing the display of an Aroostook County sesquicentennial plate replacing the front registration plate of any motor vehicle except truck tractors during calendar year 1989. It deletes reference to the Division of Motor Vehicles and does not require any fees to the State nor any allocation of State funds. The plates would be designed, distributed and sold by the Aroostook County Sesquicentennial Committee.

SA (S-3) is technical.

LD 23

An Act to Amend the Local Road Assistance Distribution Formula (Reported Pursuant to Public Laws 1987, Chapter 793)

PUBLIC 516 EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

OTP-AM

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

S-401 TWITCHELL

S--8

SUMMARY

The Local Road Assistance Program was established in 1982 to replace the previous categorical programs for state aid to municipalities for highway purposes. At the same time about 2,419 miles of state aid highways were reclassified and turned back to the municipalities. Funding was to be allocated to municipalities according to a statutory formula: 45 percent in proportion to winter miles times tax burden; 30 percent in proportion to summer miles times tax burden; and 25 percent in proportion to population times tax burden. Tax burden is the total of property taxes divided by the state valuation for the municipality. However, the statute also provided for minimum reimbursement levels based on certain factors including prior state monies, summer miles, and turnback miles. As a result, only about 34% of the funds are distributed based on the formula, so some towns receive only \$400 per mile while others receive \$3,750 per mile. The bill would equalize the distribution of funds by replacing the old distribution formula with one which provides a fixed dollar amount per average mile, (\$1216 per mile at present funding level), after a 4-year phase-in period.

CA (S-8) This amendment modifies the phase-in provision for Fiscal Years 1990 through 1993 to minimize the impact on any municipality from year to year. The amendment adds an allocation and a Fiscal Note for \$3.5 million in each fiscal year. When added to the \$15.8 million requested in the Governor's Highway Fund budget bill the annual total will reach \$19.3 million, the same as in Fiscal Year 1989, including the 22% one-time stipend for that year.

SA (S-401) removes the allocation section as the funds are included in the Part 1 Highway Fund budget.

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis......Page 1
Transportation