

STATE OF MAINE 113TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

MAY 1988

MEMBERS

Sen. Thomas H. Andrews * Sen. Judy C. Kany Sen. Robert C. Dillenback Rep. Nathaniel J. Crowley, Sr. * Rep. Donnell P.Carroll Rep. Rita B. Melendy Rep. Patricia M. Stevens Rep. Charles R. Priest Rep. B. Carolyne T. Mahany Rep. Richard W. Armstrong Rep. Clyde A. Hichborn Rep. Ronald C. Bailey Rep. David G. Stanley

* Denotes Chair

Staff: Ted Potter, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 EN T. GINDER, DIRECTOR EN WHITESIDE, DEP. DIRECTOR ERT W. BREWER ID C. ELLIOTT) FLATEBO THA E. FREEMAN, SR. ATTY. B. GAUTSCHI LIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR.



JULIE S. JONES JOHN B. KNOX EDWARD POTTER MARGARET J. REINSCH LARS H. RYDELL JOHN R. SELSER CAROLYN J. CHICK, PARALEGAL ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR. RES. ASST

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST & SECOND SPECIAL SESSIONS SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES MAY 1988

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number under each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are indicated as follows::

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Secretaries: Charlene Brann, Janet Jean, Earl Knox, Valarie Parlin; Research Assistant Hartley Palleschi. Finally, Secretary Laurette Knox, Legal Assistant Carolyn Chick, and Research Assistant Robert Dunn had special responsibilities in the preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

LD An Act to Create the Economic Corridor Action Grant Program PUBLIC 2601
855

SPONSOR (S)	COMMITTEE	REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED		
CROWLEY	-		S-383	ANDREWS	
EMERSON			S- 385	USHER	
BAILEY			S-518	PEARSON	

SUMMARY

New Draft Of LD 2220

The original bill proposed to establish a grant program implemented by the Office of Community Development within the Department of Economic and Community Development by which grants are made to municipalities to assist in the development of public facilities that facilitate growth. Only municipalities in designated economic corridors with comprehensive land use plans would qualify for the grants. The bill did not provide for the implementation process.

LD 2601, the new draft, provides guidelines for municipal eligibility in the Economic Corridor Action Grant Program, criteria for the awarding of grants, and guidelines for rulemaking. Economic growth corridors will be designated by the Commissioner of Transportation in consultation with the Commissioner of Economic and Community Development. The Department of Economic and Community Development will report annually to the Joint Standing Committee on Economic Development with respect to the grants and the amount of the grants awarded, the recipients of the grants, the projects for which the grants have been approved and applications and projects that have been denied.

#