MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 113TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY
JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
ON
STATE & LOCAL GOVERNMENT
PART II LOCAL GOVERNMENT

MAY 1988

MEMBERS

Sen. John L. Tuttle, Jr. * Sen. John E. Baldacci Sen. Robert R. Gould

Rep. Donnell P. Carroll *
Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi
Rep. Bradford E. Boutilier
Rep. Elaine Lacroix
Rep. Robert E. Hussey, Jr.
Rep. Cushman D. Anthony
Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth
Rep. Gary Bickford
Rep. Theone F. Look
Rep. Barbara E. Strout

* Denotes Chair

Staff: John Knox, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 EN T. GINDER, DIRECTOR
EN WHITESIDE, DEP. DIRECTOR
ERT W. BREWER
ID C. ELLIOTT
) FLATEBO
THA E. FREEMAN, SR. ATTY.
B. GAUTSCHI
LIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR.



JULIE S. JONES
JOHN B. KNOX
EDWARD POTTER
MARGARET J. REINSCH
LARS H. RYDELL
JOHN R. SELSER
CAROLYN J. CHICK, PARALEGAL
ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST.
HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR. RES. ASST.

OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST & SECOND SPECIAL SESSIONS SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
BILL SUMMARIES
MAY 1988

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number under each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are indicated as follows::

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Secretaries: Charlene Brann, Janet Jean, Earl Knox, Valarie Parlin; Research Assistant Hartley Palleschi. Finally, Secretary Laurette Knox, Legal Assistant Carolyn Chick, and Research Assistant Robert Dunn had special responsibilities in the preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

elected in the same manner as municipal officers. This bill prohibits the elected members from holding any other municipal office. It also prohibits the commission officers from being municipal employees.

The Minority Report, Committee Amendment A (H-582) allows 2 appointive members to be municipal officers instead of only one, and removes the exclusion of municipal employees from being officers of the charter commission.

LD An Act to Amend the Requirement that Counties Contribute
2306 to the Support of the Superior Courts and the Supreme
Judicial Court

INDEF PP

SPONSOR(S)	COMMITTEE REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED
LOOK	OTP-AM	H-647
RANDALL		S-459 TUTTLE
TAMMARO		
SHELTRA	•	

SUMMARY

There are currently two laws which relate to county support of Supreme and Superior Courts. 4 MRSA section 115 requires that counties provide to the Supreme and Superior Courts at no charge such quarters, facilities, furnishings and equipment in existing buildings as were used by these courts in 1976. 4 MRSA section 118 requires that counties contribute to the financial support of these courts in an amount equal to their contribution to these courts in 1975.

This bill proposes that the counties no longer be required to provide equipment, only facilities and furnishings, and that the financial contribution be reduced to 10% of the 1975 contribution. This bill contains a \$687,000 fiscal note.

Committee Amendment A (H-647) provides for a January 1, 1989, effective date in order to coincide with the counties' fiscal year and adds an appropriation section to cover the 1/2 year involved.

Senate Amendment A (S-459) eliminates an unnecessary appropriation section and adds a needed fiscal note.

LD An Act to Amend the Charter of the Eastport Port Authority LV/WD 2313

SPONSOR(S)COMMITTEEREPORTAMENDMENTSADOPTEDVOSELV/WD

SUMMARY

Currently the Eastport Port Authority is under the supervision of 7 directors consisting of the City Manager, the President of the City Council, a member of

Office of Policy and Legal Analysispage 9
State and Local Government
Part II - Local Government

the Chamber of Commerce and 4 at large directors who must be residents and are elected by the voters. This bill requires that all directors be residents and eliminates the requirement that the above listed officials be directors.

A similar bill was passed in a special session last year. It differed from the current bill in that it prohibited most town officials from being Authority directors. This bill was vetoed by the Governor who was concerned with the fact that it did not appear to represent the desires of local residents, that is was developed in a unduly hasty fashion and that it was unnecessarily dealt with in a special session

LD RESOLVE, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing
2339 Expenditures of Oxford County for the Year 1988 (Reported
Pursuant to a Joint Order, HP1489)

RESOLVE 081 EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

This Resolve is the annual county tax and authorization bill for Oxford County. Total appropriations for the County are \$1,779,000, an increase of 7% over the previous year.

LD RESOLVE, for Laying of the County Taxes and Authorizing
2379 Expenditures of Hancock County for the Year 1988 (Reported
Pursuant to a Joint Order; HP1489)

082 EMERGENCY

RESOLVE

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

OTP

OTP

SUMMARY

This Resolve is the annual county tax and authorization bill for Hancock County. Total appropriations for the County are \$2,026,000, an increase of 5% over the previous year.

LD RESOLVE, to Authorize a Transfer of Surplus Funds within the RESOLVE
2404 Franklin County Budget 089
EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)
DEXTER

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

This Resolve allows Franklin County to transfer \$53,456 from surplus to the sheriff's account to make up for a 1987 deficit in that account.

A county is permitted to keep up to \$50,000 in a contingency account to be used in an emergency as determined by the Commissioners. This fund may be replenished from surplus at the end of the year. Franklin County has already used its 1987 contingency account but did at the end of the year have \$129,000 in surplus.

Office of Policy and Legal Analysispage 10
State and Local Government
Part II - Local Government