

STATE OF MAINE 113TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE & LOCAL GOVERNMENT PART II LOCAL GOVERNMENT

MAY 1988

MEMBERS

Sen. John L. Tuttle, Jr. * Sen. John E. Baldacci Sen. Robert R. Gould Rep. Donnell P. Carroll * Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi Rep. Bradford E. Boutilier Rep. Elaine Lacroix Rep. Robert E. Hussey, Jr. Rep. Cushman D. Anthony Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth Rep. Gary Bickford Rep. Theone F. Look Rep. Barbara E. Strout

* Denotes Chair

Staff: John Knox, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 EN T. GINDER, DIRECTOR EN WHITESIDE, DEP. DIRECTOR ERT W. BREWER ID C. ELLIOTT) FLATEBO THA E. FREEMAN, SR. ATTY. B. GAUTSCHI LIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR.



JULIE S. JONES JOHN B. KNOX EDWARD POTTER MARGARET J. REINSCH LARS H. RYDELL JOHN R. SELSER CAROLYN J. CHICK, PARALEGAL ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR. RES. ASST

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST & SECOND SPECIAL SESSIONS SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES MAY 1988

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number under each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are indicated as follows::

OTP	Ought to Pass	
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft	
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title	
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended	
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass	
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw	
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed	

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Secretaries: Charlene Brann, Janet Jean, Earl Knox, Valarie Parlin; Research Assistant Hartley Palleschi. Finally, Secretary Laurette Knox, Legal Assistant Carolyn Chick, and Research Assistant Robert Dunn had special responsibilities in the preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

elected in the same manner as municipal officers. This bill prohibits the elected members from holding any other municipal office. It also prohibits the commission officers from being municipal employees.

The Minority Report, Committee Amendment A (H-582) allows 2 appointive members to be municipal officers instead of only one, and removes the exclusion of municipal employees from being officers of the charter commission.

LDAn Act to Amend the Requirement that Counties ContributeINDEF PP2306to the Support of the Superior Courts and the SupremeJudicial Court

SPONSOR (S)	COMMITTEE REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED
LOOK	OTP-AM	H-647
RANDALL		S-459 TUTTLE
TAMMARO		
SHELTRA	•	

SUMMARY

There are currently two laws which relate to county support of Supreme and Superior Courts. 4 MRSA section 115 requires that counties provide to the Supreme and Superior Courts at no charge such quarters, facilities, furnishings and equipment in existing buildings as were used by these courts in 1976. 4 MRSA section 118 requires that counties contribute to the financial support of these courts in an amount equal to their contribution to these courts in 1975.

This bill proposes that the counties no longer be required to provide equipment, only facilities and furnishings, and that the financial contribution be reduced to 10% of the 1975 contribution. This bill contains a \$687,000 fiscal note.

Committee Amendment A (H-647) provides for a January 1, 1989, effective date in order to coincide with the counties' fiscal year and adds an appropriation section to cover the 1/2 year involved.

Senate Amendment A (S-459) eliminates an unnecessary appropriation section and adds a needed fiscal note.

LD An Act to Amend the Charter of the Eastport Port Authority LV/WD 2313

SPONSOR (S)	COMMITTEE REPORT	AMENDMENTS ADOPTED
VOSE	LV/WD	

SUMMARY

Currently the Eastport Port Authority is under the supervision of 7 directors consisting of the City Manager, the President of the City Council, a member of

Office of Policy and Legal Analysispage 9 State and Local Government Part II - Local Government

0