MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 113TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION



BILL SUMMARY
JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
ON
STATE & LOCAL GOVERNMENT
PART II LOCAL GOVERNMENT

MAY 1988

MEMBERS

Sen. John L. Tuttle, Jr. * Sen. John E. Baldacci Sen. Robert R. Gould

Rep. Donnell P. Carroll *
Rep. Dorothy A. Rotondi
Rep. Bradford E. Boutilier
Rep. Elaine Lacroix
Rep. Robert E. Hussey, Jr.
Rep. Cushman D. Anthony
Rep. Alberta M. Wentworth
Rep. Gary Bickford
Rep. Theone F. Look
Rep. Barbara E. Strout

* Denotes Chair

Staff: John Knox, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy & Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Sta. 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207) 289-1670 EN T. GINDER, DIRECTOR
EN WHITESIDE, DEP. DIRECTOR
ERT W. BREWER
ID C. ELLIOTT
) FLATEBO
THA E. FREEMAN, SR. ATTY.
B. GAUTSCHI
LIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR.



JULIE S. JONES
JOHN B. KNOX
EDWARD POTTER
MARGARET J. REINSCH
LARS H. RYDELL
JOHN R. SELSER
CAROLYN J. CHICK, PARALEGAL
ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST.
HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR. RES. ASST.

OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST & SECOND SPECIAL SESSIONS SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE
BILL SUMMARIES
MAY 1988

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number under each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action is listed to the right of the title. If final House and Senate action differ, both are listed. Committee Reports and Floor Action are indicated as follows::

OTP	Ought to Pass
OTP-ND	Ought to Pass in New Draft
OTP-ND-NT	Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title
OTP-A	Ought to Pass as Amended
ONTP	Ought Not to Pass
LVWD	Leave to Withdraw
INDEF PP	Indefinitely Postponed

Each individual summary was prepared by the analyst assigned, as noted for each committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including Secretaries: Charlene Brann, Janet Jean, Earl Knox, Valarie Parlin; Research Assistant Hartley Palleschi. Finally, Secretary Laurette Knox, Legal Assistant Carolyn Chick, and Research Assistant Robert Dunn had special responsibilities in the preparation of the overall document.

Please give us your suggestions and comments on these summaries and tell us of any inaccuracies.

LD An Act to Authorize the City of Old Town to Acquire Land
2052 from the University of Maine to Construct a Solid Waste

Disposal System

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

LV/WD

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

PARADIS E

CASHMAN PEARSON

SUMMARY

This bill is authorizes the city of Old Town to acquire land from the University of Maine to construct a solid waste disposal system.

LD An Act to Deorganize the Town of Sherman

ONTP

LV/WD

2075

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SMITH ONTP

LUDWIG

SUMMARY

This bill deorganizes the town of Sherman.

LD An Act to Expand the Membership and Clarify the Role of 2078 the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations

INDEF PP

2070 the Commission on intergovernmental Relation

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

PRAY OTP-AM S-354

ESTES CARROLL MCGOWAN

SUMMARY

Maine currently has a statutory requirement calling for a state commission on intergovernmental relations. In recent years members have not been designated for this commission, it has not been funded and it has not met.

This bill provides \$10,000 per year for meeting expenses and changes the membership from 7 to 17 members. It raises the State representatives from 2 to 3, adds 5 county representatives, adds 3 municipal representatives, bringing that total to 5, adds a representative from MMA and the County Commissioners Association, and eliminates the 1 member from the general public.

In the current law 4 members are appointed by the Governor and the remainder by the Legislature. This bill maintains the Governor's appointees at 4 and has the remaining 13 appointed by the Legislature.

Committee Amendment A (S-354), adds 2 executive branch officials and adds several provisions to bring the Commission's administration into conformity with Legislative Council guidelines; requires presentation of a work plan to the Committee on State and Local Government by May 1, 1989, including

Office of Policy and Legal Analysispage 5
State and Local Government
Part II - Local Government