MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON

STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT Part II County and Local

BILL SUMMARY



JUNE 1987

PREPARED BY:

John B. Knox, Legislative Analyst

OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS
STATE HOUSE, STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333
(207) 289-1670

HELEN T. GINDER, DIRECTOR
HAVEN WHITESIDE, DEP. DIRECTOR
GILBERT W. BREWER
DAVID C. ELLIOTT
GRO FLATEBO
MARTHA E. FREEMAN, SR. ATTY.
JERI B. GAUTSCHI
CHRISTOS GIANOPOULOS
WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR.



JULIE S. JONES
JOHN B. KNOX
EDWARD POTTER
MARGARET J. REINSCH
LARS H. RYDELL
JOHN R. SELSER
CAROLYN J. CHICK, PARALEGAL
ROBERT W. DUNN, RES. ASST.
HARTLEY PALLESCHI, JR., RES. ASST.
KATHRYN VAN NOTE, RES. ASST.

STATE OF MAINE OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES JUNE 1987

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The summaries are arranged by LD number under each committee.

All Adopted Amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor if it is a floor amendment or the designation "COMMITTEE" if it is a committee amendment.

Final action for each bill is listed to the right of the title. If final House action and Senate action differ, both are listed.

Please let us know if you would prefer a different format or additional information and if the summaries are helpful.

Key to Committee Reports and Floor Action:

| OTP | Ought to Pass |
|------------|---------------------------------------|
| OTP-ND | Ought to Pass in New Draft |
| OTP-ND-NT | Ought to Pass in New Draft, New Title |
| OTP-A | Ought to Pass as Amended |
| ONTP | Ought Not to Pass |
| LVWD | Leave to Withdraw |
| INDEF PP , | Indefinitely Postponed |



Sponsor: DAVIS, Dow, Weymouth, Nutting Committee Report: OTP-A Amendments Adopted: H-69 COMMITTEE

SUMMARY: The Cobbossee Watershed District was created by Private and Special Law in 1971. Its purpose is to protect, improve and conserve the lakes and ponds in certain specified member municipalities, basically in the Winthrop Lakes Region. The District is governed by a board of trustees elected by the municipal officers whose municipalities comprise the area. It is a tax exempt entity which has the powers of eminent domain, contracting and borrowing. The budget is set after a public hearing and warrants are submitted to the participating municipalities to levy taxes in proportion to the valuation of the land that they have in the watershed, which is defined as certain bodies of water. Municipalities determined whether to join the watershed district by voter referendum.

This bill seeks to add the Tacoma Lakes to those bodies of water which constitute the watershed. The town of Litchfield which borders the Tacoma Lakes is in the legally designated Cobbessee Watershed District but Litchfield is not a member of the district.

The Committee amendment makes the bill take effect upon agreement of the municipality of Litchfield to become a member of the Cobbossee Watershed District.

The Tacoma Lakes lie within the municipality of Litchfield. Unless a municipality joins the watershed district, the district has no authority over bodies of water in that municipality nor may the shoreland of these bodies of water be considered in determining the valuation of the watershed district.

LDRESOLVE, FOR LAYING OF THE COUNTY TAXES AND 605 AUTHORIZING EXPENDITURES OF SAGADAHOC COUNTY FOR THE YEAR 1987 (REPORTED PURSUANT TO A JOINT ORDER; HP23)

RESOLVE 1987 c. 6 EMERGENCY

Sponsor:

Committee Report: OTP

SUMMARY: This Resolve is the annual county tax and authorization bill for Sagadahoc County.

Office of Policy and Legal Analysispage 16 State and Local Government Part II County and Local