MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

SENATE

RONALD F. COLLINS, DISTRICT 34, CHAIR KIMBERLEY C. ROSEN, DISTRICT 8
G. WILLIAM DIAMOND, DISTRICT 26

KAREN NADEAU-DRILLEN, LEGISLATIVE ANALYST DARLENE SIMONEAU, COMMITTEE CLERK



HOUSE

ANDREW J. MCLEAN, GORHAM, CHAIR
GEORGE W. HOGAN, OLD ORCHARD BEACH
CHRISTINE B. POWERS, NAPLES
ARTHUR C. VEROW, BREWER
MARK E. BRYANT, WINDHAM
JARED F. GOLDEN, LEWISTON
WAYNE R. PARRY, ARUNDEL
JAMES S. GILLWAY, SEARSPORT
BRADLEE THOMAS FARRIN, NORRIDGEWOCK
BRIAN D. HORART, ROMODINHAM

STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

February 9, 2016

The Honorable Michael D. Thibodeau President of the Senate The Honorable Mark W. Eves Speaker of the House of Representatives 127th Legislature State House Augusta, ME 04333

Dear President Thibodeau and Speaker Eves:

Please accept this letter as the report of the findings of the Joint Standing Committee on Transportation from its review and evaluation of the Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles under the State Government Evaluation Act, Title 3 Maine Revised Statutes, chapter 35.

Pursuant to the requirements of the Act, the Joint Standing Committee on Transportation notified the Bureau of Motor Vehicles by letter of its intent to review the bureau on May 27, 2015. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles submitted its Program Evaluation Report on November 1, 2015 and presented the report to the committee on January 14, 2016.

The committee unanimously finds that the Bureau of Motor Vehicles is operating within its statutory authority.

Sincerely,

Senator Ronald F. Collins

Senate Chair

Representative Andrew J. McLean

House Chair

cc: Patty Morneault, Deputy Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles Marion Hylan Barr, Director, Office of Policy and Legal Analysis

John Barden, Director, Law Library

SENATE

RONALD F. COLLINS, DISTRICT 34, CHAIR KIMBERLEY C. ROSEN, DISTRICT 8
G. WILLIAM DIAMOND, DISTRICT 26

KAREN NADEAU-DRILLEN, LEGISLATIVE ANALYST DARLENE SIMONE AU, COMMITTEE CLERK



HOUSE

ANDREW J. MCLEAN, GORHAM, CHAIR
GEORGE W. HOGAN, OLD ORCHARD BEACH
CHRISTINE B. POWERS, NAPLES
ARTHUR C. VEROW, BREWER
MARK E. BRYANT, WINDHAM
JARED F. GOLDEN, LEWISTON
WAYNE R. PARRY, ARUNDEL
JAMES S. GILLWAY, SEARSPORT
BRADLEE THOMAS FARRIN, NORRIDGEWOCK
BRIAN D. HOBART, BOWDOINHAM

STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

May 27, 2015

Patty Morneault, Deputy Secretary of State Bureau of Motor Vehicles 29 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0029

RE: Review of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles under the Government Evaluation Act

Dear Ms. Morneault,

We are writing to notify you that the Joint Standing Committee on Transportation has voted to review the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, pursuant to the Government Evaluation Act, Title 3 of the Maine Revised Statutes, chapter 35.

Pursuant to that law, the Committee respectfully requests that the Bureau of Motor Vehicles prepare a program evaluation report and submit the report to this committee no later than November 1, 2015. Title 3, section 956 provides a list of information to be included in the evaluation report. Please review each item and advise us if any item is not applicable to the duties and responsibilities of the authority and this committee's oversight of the authority.

We will begin our review of the bureau no later than February 1, 2016, as provided in law, and we anticipate submitting our findings, administrative recommendations and implementing legislation to the Legislature no later than March 15, 2016. We look forward to working with you on this review process. Please feel free to contact one of us or our committee staff if you have questions about the process. Thank you.

Sincerely.

Senator Ronald F Collins, Co-Chair

Representative Andrew J. McLean, Co-Chair

andrew McLean

Cc: Senator Michael D. Thibodeau, President of the Senate

Representative Mark W. Eves, Speaker of the House

Marion Hylan Barr, Director, Office of Policy and Legal Analysis