MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



STATE OF MAINE MAINE PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY BOARD 78 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0078

JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR NOAH NESIN, MD CHAIR

March 1, 2021 Maine Prescription Drug Affordability Board Report to the Committee on Health Coverage, Insurance and Financial Services

The Maine Prescription Drug Affordability Board was established in 2019 pursuant to MRS Title 5 Chapter 167-1. The Board's purpose is to: determine annual spending targets for prescription drugs purchased by public payors; determine which public payors are likely to exceed the spending targets; and determine spending targets on specific prescription drugs that may cause affordability challenges to enrollees in a public payor health plan. To do that, the Board will evaluate and recommend methodologies that might be utilized to reduce costs.

Board membership:

Board Member:	Title/Occupation:	Nominated by:
Noah Nesin, MD	Chief Medical Officer,	Governor of Maine
(Chair)	Penobscot Community Health Care	
Kenneth McCall III,	Professor and Director of Residency Programs	Governor of Maine
Pharm.D.	& Professional Affairs,	
(Alternate)	University of New England	
	College of Pharmacy	
Peter Hayes	President/CEO	President of the Senate
	Healthcare Purchaser Alliance of ME	
Frank Johnson	Retired	President of the Senate
	Director of Employee Health & Wellness	
	State of Maine	
Jennifer Reck	Project Director	President of the Senate
(Alternate)	National Academy for State Health Policy	
Susan Wehry, MD	Chief of Geriatrics, Primary Care	Speaker of the House
	University of New England	
Julia Redding, DO	Family & Geriatric Medicine	Speaker of the House
	Maine Medical Center	
Rhonda Selvin, FNP	Family Medicine	Speaker of the House
(Alternate)	MaineGeneral/Augusta Family Medicine	

The Board is required to meet once per calendar quarter. The first meeting was held on March 17, 2020. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, the Board was not able to resume meetings until November 2020. In order to catch up, meetings are currently being held monthly or bi-monthly rather than quarterly. Meetings are currently scheduled through March 23, 2021.

PHONE: (207) 624-7800 www.Maine.gov FAX: (207) 624-7804

Five meetings were held from March 2020 through January 2021. Meetings to date have been focused on subject matter related to the pharmaceutical industry, the structure of public payor health and prescription insurance plans, potential cost control measures that have been implemented in other states and countries, model legislative initiatives and legislative initiatives in other states.

From the National Academy for State Health Policy, the Board has heard from Jennifer Reck, Project Director, and Marilyn Bartlett, Senior Policy Fellow, NASHP Center for Health System Costs. Presentations included an overview of cost drivers for prescription drugs, a discussion of NASHP suggested model legislation, a tour of the complex financial relationships and players in the United States pharmaceutical market, and an introduction to a few cost-control measures that have been implemented in other states and countries. Karynlee Harrington, Executive Director of the Maine Health Data Organization, has presented data on prescription costs, cost increases over time, and cost drivers. The Board has also heard from Ann Woloson, Executive Director of Maine Consumers for Affordable Health Care, and in an upcoming meeting will be hearing from the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review (ICER).

Public payor presentations have included information related to health plans offered, number of covered members, average age, deductibles, co-pays and co-insurance levels, premium costs, and prescription tiers and co-pays. Presentations have been made by: Maine Education Association Benefits Trust, Maine Community College System, Maine Municipal Employee Health Trust, University of Maine System, and Maine State Employee Health Commission.

Meeting agendas, minutes and copies of presentations can be found on the Board website, at https://www.maine.gov/bhr/oeh/about/Maine-Prescription-Drug-Affordability-Board

To aid the Board in its mission, the enabling statute established an Advisory Council to assist the Board in establishing annual spending targets and determining methods for meeting those spending targets.

Advisory Council membership:

Council Member	Title	Organization/Nominated by
Bethany Beausang	Senior Policy Advisor	Governor
Heather Perreault	Deputy Commissioner of Finance	Commissioner
		Dept. Admin & Financial Services
Karen Yeaton	Associate Commissioner	Commissioner
		Department of Corrections
Jeanne Lambrew	Commissioner	Commissioner
		Dept. Health & Human Services
Christina Moylan	Assistant Attorney General	Attorney General
Shonna Poulin-	Executive Director	Executive Director
Gutierrez		Employee Health & Wellness
Jonathan French	Engineering Data Manager	Maine State Employees
	Department of Transportation	Association
Jennifer Kent	Executive Director, Benefits Trust	Maine Education Association
Anne Wright	Executive Director, Benefits Trust	Maine Municipal Association
Ryan Low	Vice Chancellor, Finance	University of Maine System
Robert Nadeau	Chief Counsel, Labor & Employment	Maine Community College System
Kate Ende	Policy Director, Maine Consumers	Consumer interest representative
	for Affordable Health Care	Governor

Other activities of the Board have included outreach to other state Prescription Drug Advisory Boards, as well as upcoming work to establish vision and mission statements, and by-laws for the Board. The Board anticipates upcoming meetings will begin to focus on substantive discussion around potential methods to address the rising costs of prescription drugs and the affordability issues caused by this.

Respectfully submitted,

Noah Nesin, MD, Chair Maine Prescription Drug Affordability Board

cc: Kirsten LC Figueroa, Commissioner, Dept. of Administrative and Financial Services

PHONE: (207) 624-7800 www.Maine.gov FAX: (207) 624-7804