MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

DOCUMENTS

PRINTED BY ORDER OF

THE LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1861.

 $$A\,U\,G\,U\,S\,T\,A:$$ STEVENS & SAYWARD, PRINTERS TO THE STATE. 1861 .

FORTIETH LEGISLATURE.

SENATE.

No. 22.

STATE OF MAINE.

RESOLVE to apportion the state for senators to the legislature.

Resolved, That from and after the passing of this re-

- 2 solve, the state be, and hereby is, divided into sixteen
- 3 districts for the choice of senators, and each district
- 4 shall be entitled to elect the number of senators herein
- 5 provided, for the term of ten years, in the manner pre-
- 6 scribed by the constitution, to wit:
- 7 The city of Biddeford and the several towns compos-
- 8 ing the county of York, shall form the first district,
- 9 and be entitled to elect three senators.
- 10 The city of Portland and the several towns composing

STEVENS & SAYWARD, Printers to the State.

- 11 the county of Cumberland, shall form the second dis-
- 12 trict, and be entitled to elect four senators.
- 13 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 14 county of Oxford, shall form the third district, and be
- 15 entitled to elect two senators.
- 16 The several towns composing the county of Andro-
- 17 scoggin, shall form the fourth district, and be entitled
- 18 to elect one senator.
- 19 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 20 county of Franklin, shall form the fifth district, and be
- 21 entitled to elect one senator.
- 22 The city of Bath and the several towns composing the
- 23 county of Sagadahoc, shall form the sixth district, and
- 24 be entitled to elect one senator.
- 25 The several cities, towns and plantations composing
- 26 the county of Kennebec, shall form the seventh dis-
- 27 trict, and be entitled to elect three senators.
- 28 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 29 county of Somerset, shall form the eighth district, and
- 30 be entitled to elect two senators.
- '31 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 32 county of Piscataquis, shall form the ninth district,
- 33 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 34 The city of Bangor and the several towns and plan-
- 35 tations composing the county of Penobscot, shall form

- 36 the tenth district, and be entitled to elect three sena-
- 37 tors.
- 38 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 39 county of Lincoln, shall form the eleventh district, and
- 40 be entitled to elect one senator.
- 41 The city of Rockland and the several towns and plan-
- 42 tations composing the county of Knox, shall form the
- 43 twelfth district, and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 44 The city of Belfast and the several towns and plan-
- 45 tations composing the county of Waldo, shall form the
- 46 thirteenth district, and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 47 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 48 county of Hancock, shall form the fourteenth district,
- 49 and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 50 The city of Calais and the several towns and planta-
- 51 tions composing the county of Washington, shall form
- 52 the fifteenth district, and be entitled to elect two sen-
- 53 ators.
- 54 The several towns and plantations composing the
- 55 county of Aroostook, shall form the sixteenth district,
- 56 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 57 The resolve entitled "resolve to apportion the state
- 58 for senators to the legislature," approved April twenty-
- 59 third, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hun-
- 60 dred and fifty-two, is hereby repealed.

STATE OF MAINE.

In Senate, March 8, 1861.

Reported by the Committee on Apportionment, and ordered to be printed for the use of the Legislature.

JAMES M. LINCOLN, Secretary.