MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SPECIAL SESSION September 27, 2011

SECOND REGULAR SESSION January 4, 2012 to May 31, 2012

THE EFFECTIVE DATE FOR FIRST SPECIAL SESSION LAWS IS SEPTEMBER 28, 2011

THE GENERAL EFFECTIVE DATE FOR SECOND REGULAR SESSION NON-EMERGENCY LAWS IS AUGUST 30, 2012

PUBLISHED BY THE REVISOR OF STATUTES IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MAINE REVISED STATUTES ANNOTATED, TITLE 3, SECTION 163-A, SUBSECTION 4.

Augusta, Maine 2012

DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS	\$9,167	\$22,000
SECTION TOTALS	2011-12	2012-13
GENERAL FUND	\$31,015	\$175,725
SECTION TOTAL - ALL FUNDS	\$31,015	\$175,725

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

Effective September 28, 2011.

CHAPTER 466 H.P. 1195 - L.D. 1590

An Act To Reapportion the Congressional Districts of the State

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, current law provides for the reapportionment of Maine's congressional districts in 2013; and

Whereas, the United States District Court has ruled that Maine may not wait until 2013 to redraw its 2 congressional districts to reflect population shifts, but must instead redraw the districts in time for the congressional election in 2012; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, sub-§§1 and 2, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 628, §2, are repealed and the following enacted in their place:
- 1. First District. The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities within Kennebec County: Augusta, Chelsea, China, Farmingdale, Hallowell, Manchester, Pittston, Readfield, Vassalboro, Waterville, Windsor, Winslow and Winthrop.

2. Second District. The Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Belgrade, Benton, Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and Unity Township.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

Effective September 28, 2011.