

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

ONE HUNDRED AND NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION December 2, 1998 to June 19, 1999

THE GENERAL EFFECTIVE DATE FOR FIRST REGULAR SESSION NON-EMERGENCY LAWS IS SEPTEMBER 18, 1999

PUBLISHED BY THE REVISOR OF STATUTES IN ACCORDANCE WITH MAINE REVISED STATUTES ANNOTATED, TITLE 3, SECTION 163-A, SUBSECTION 4.

> J.S. McCarthy Company Augusta, Maine 1999

CHAPTER 445

S.P. 824 - L.D. 2227

An Act to Expand Membership on the Maine Tourism Commission

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §13090-F, sub-§1, as amended by PL 1997, c. 268, §1, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

1. Maine Tourism Commission. The Maine Tourism Commission, established by section 12004-I, subsection 87 and referred to in this section as the "commission," shall assist and advise the Office of Tourism and Community Development to achieve its purpose under section 13090-C. The commission consists of 24 voting members appointed by the Governor as follows:

A. Three members representing the outdoor sporting interests of the State, including:

(1) One member representing a statewide organization of hunters, anglers and trappers;

(2) One member representing the interests of large landowners; and

(3) One member representing a statewide organization of licensed Maine guides;

B. Eight public members who represent their respective regions and have experience in the field or have demonstrated concern for the travel industry; and

<u>C. Thirteen members of major tourism trade associations, including:</u>

(1) At least one member representing a statewide organization of hotels, motels and inns;

(2) At least one member representing a statewide organization of restaurants;

(3) At least one member representing a statewide organization of campground owners;

(4) At least one member representing the retail sector in the State;

(5) At least one member representing the motorcoach industry;

(6) At least one member representing the air transportation industry;

(7) At least one member representing arts and cultural organizations; and

(8) At least one member representing a statewide organization of children's camps.

The terms of the voting members are for 4 years each. The Governor shall fill a vacancy in the membership for any unexpired term. The commissioners, directors or designees of the following state departments or offices shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the commission: the department; the State Planning Office; the Department of Conservation; the Department of Transportation; the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife; the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources; the Department of Education; and the Bureau of Public Improvements. The Canadian Affairs Coordinator shall also serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member of the commission. A chair and vice-chair of the commission must be elected annually from the appointed membership.

Sec. 2. Staggered terms. The terms of the additional 4 members representing tourism industry interests that are added to the Maine Tourism Commission under this Act are as follows:

1. For the first appointed member, the term is 4 years;

2. For the 2nd appointed member, the term is 3 years;

3. For the 3rd appointed member, the term is 2 years; and

4. For the 4th appointed member, the term is one year.

See title page for effective date.

CHAPTER 446

S.P. 77 - L.D. 180

An Act to Improve Access to Electronic Filing for Businesses

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §54 is enacted to read:

§54. Electronic filing

<u>Every state agency, department, board, commis-</u> sion, institution, authority or public instrumentality