MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTEENTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SPECIAL SESSION November 28, 1995 to December 1, 1995

SECOND REGULAR SESSION January 3, 1996 to April 4, 1996

THE GENERAL EFFECTIVE DATE FOR FIRST REGULAR SESSION NON-EMERGENCY LAWS IS JULY 4, 1996

PUBLISHED BY THE REVISOR OF STATUTES IN ACCORDANCE WITH MAINE REVISED STATUTES ANNOTATED, TITLE 3, SECTION 163-A, SUBSECTION 4.

> J.S. McCarthy Company Augusta, Maine 1995

PUBLIC LAWS OF THE STATE OF MAINE AS PASSED AT

THE FIRST SPECIAL SESSION OF THE ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTEENTH LEGISLATURE

1995

CHAPTER 501

H.P. 1162 - L.D. 1595

An Act to Increase the Number of **Washington County Commissioners** from 3 to 5

Mandate preamble. This measure requires one or more local units of government to expand or modify activities so as to necessitate additional expenditures from local revenues but does not provide funding for at least 90% of those expenditures. Pursuant to the Constitution of Maine, Article IX, Section 21, two thirds of all of the members elected to each House have determined it necessary to enact this measure.

Emergency preamble. Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, currently there is not a means of replacing county commissioners who are unable to perform their duties due to illness or other incapacitating circumstances; and

Whereas, in Washington County, there is currently a county commissioner who cannot perform the duties of office; and

Whereas, this has effectively left one county commissioner district without representation, and has hampered the ability of the other county commissioners to maintain a quorum; and

Whereas, the creation of 2 more county commissioners, to be elected and serve at large, would alleviate the problem by giving all county commissioner districts more than one commissioner; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- **30-A MRSA §66, sub-§15,** as Sec. 1. amended by PL 1993, c. 554, §1, is further amended to read:
- 15. Creation of Washington County Commissioner Districts. Washington County is divided into the following 3 districts.
 - A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the municipalities of Alexander, Baileyville, Baring Plantation, Calais, Charlotte, Codyville Plantation, Cooper, Crawford, Danforth, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Meddybemps, Princeton, Robbinston, Talmadge, Topsfield, Waite and Vanceboro, Indian Township and the unorganized territory of North Washington. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4 years thereafter.
 - B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the municipalities of Beddington, Centerville, Cutler, Deblois, Dennysville, East Machias, Eastport, Lubec, Machiasport, Marshfield, Northfield, Pembroke, Perry, Wesley, Whiting and Whitneyville, Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Indian Reservation and the unorganized territories of East Central Washington and North Washington. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4 years thereafter.
 - C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the municipalities of Addison, Beals, Cherryfield, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Machias, Milbridge, Roque Bluffs and Steuben. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1990 and every 4 years thereafter.

In addition to the commissioners from the districts specified in paragraphs A, B and C, 2 commissioners must be elected at large. The terms of office of the atlarge commissioners expire in 1998 and every 4 years thereafter.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act takes effect when approved.

Effective November 30, 1995.