

## LAWS

#### OF THE

# **STATE OF MAINE**

### AS PASSED BY THE ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

December 3, 1986 to June 30, 1987

Chapters 1-542

PUBLISHED BY THE REVISOR OF STATUTES IN ACCORDANCE WITH MAINE REVISED STATUTES ANNOTATED, TITLE 3, SECTION 163-A, SUBSECTION 4.

\_\_\_\_\_

Twin City Printery Lewiston, Maine 1987

## **PUBLIC LAWS**

#### OF THE

# **STATE OF MAINE**

#### AS PASSED AT THE

#### FIRST REGULAR SESSION

#### of the

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE

1987

**Emergency clause.** In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act shall take effect when approved.

Effective May 22, 1987.

#### **CHAPTER 158**

#### H.P. 840 - L.D. 1131

#### AN ACT Relating to the Membership of the Waldo County Budget Committee.

**Emergency preamble.** Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, legislation was passed in 1985 which provided for a budget committee of municipal officials to approve the Waldo county budget; and

Whereas, this legislation provided for all members to be elected in 1985 and every 2 years thereafter; and

Whereas, it is desired to increase the length of the terms to 3 years and to stagger the times when the terms shall end; and

Whereas, the budget committee is to be elected at least 90 days prior to the end of the county's fiscal year which is at the end of the calendar year; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA \$1403, sub-\$1, as repealed and replaced by PL 1985, c. 737, Pt. A, \$85, is amended to read:

1. <u>Membership</u>. The budget committee shall consist of 9 members, 3 members from each commissioner district selected as provided for in this section and 3 county commissioners who shall serve on the committee in an advisory capacity only and shall not vote on any committee matters.

In <del>1985</del> <u>1987</u>, and thereafter, at least 90 days prior to the end of every <del>other</del> fiscal year, the 9 members shall be elected by the following procedure.

A. The county commissioners shall notify all municipal officers in the county to caucus by county commissioner districts at a specified date, time and place for the purpose of nominating at least 3 <u>one</u> municipal officers officer from each district as candidates a candidate for the county budget committee; except that in 1987, at least 3 municipal officers shall be nominated from each district. The county commissioners shall serve as nonvoting moderators for their district caucuses. Nominations shall be received from the floor. The 3 nominees nominee receiving the most votes shall be approved. Any other nominees who receive a majority vote of those present shall also be approved. The names of those duly approved shall be recorded and forwarded to the county commissioners to be placed on a written ballot.

B. The county commissioners shall have written ballots printed with the names of those candidates selected in their districts in accordance with paragraph A. The county commissioners shall distribute these ballots to each municipality. Each commissioner district shall require a separate ballot and each ballot shall specify each candidate's full name and municipality. The municipal officers shall vote as a board for 3 one budget committee members member from the candidates on the ballot and return the ballot to the county commissioners by a certain date; except that in 1987, the municipal officers shall vote as a board for 3 budget committee members. The ballots shall be counted at a regular meeting of the county commissioners. Each vote shall be weighed according to that municipality's population as a proportion of the district's total population, except that no municipality may have more than one budget committee member. The county commissioners shall notify each municipality, in writing, of the results of the election and shall certify the results to the Secretary of State.

Sec. 2. 30 MRSA §1403, sub-§3, as repealed and replaced by PL 1985, c. 737, Pt. A, §85, is repealed and the following enacted to read:

3. Term of office. The term of office shall be 3 years, provided that a budget committee member remains a municipal officer in his municipality; except that of those elected in 1987, one from each district shall be elected for a term of 3 years; one from each district shall be elected for a term of 2 years; and one from each district shall be elected for a term of one year.

**Emergency clause.** In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act shall take effect when approved.

Effective May 22, 1987.

#### CHAPTER 159

H.P. 1197 — L.D. 1631

### AN ACT to Provide Assistance to Victims of Natural Disasters.

**Emergency preamble.** Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and