# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### LAWS

OF THE

### STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1ST SPECIAL SESSION

JANUARY 2, 1974 TO MARCH 29, 1974

AND BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

REGULAR SESSION

JANUARY 1, 1975 TO JULY 2, 1975

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REVISED STATUTES OF 1964, TITLE 3, SECTION 164, SUBSECTION 6.

THE KNOWLTON AND McLeary Company Farmington, Maine 1975

### PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

1975

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Southport, Wiscasset and Westport;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Waldoboro, Bristol, Bremen, Nobleboro, South Bristol and Monhegan Plantation;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Alna, Damariscotta, Dresden, Edgecomb, Jefferson, Newcastle, Somerville and Whitefield.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to election of county commissioner by district in Lincoln County shall be made in the following manner: In 1976, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 1 for a term of 6 years. In 1978, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 2 for a term of 6 years. In 1980, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 3 for a term of 6 years. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner resident in the district and elected by the district on the board of commissioners.

Effective October 1, 1975

#### CHAPTER 334

AN ACT Creating Franklin County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-U is enacted to read:

§ 105-U. Creation of Franklin County Commissioner Districts

Franklin County shall be divided into the 3 following districts:

Commissioner District number one, consisting of the municipalities of Jay and Wilton;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Chesterville, Farmington, Industry and New Sharon;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Avon, Carrabassett Valley, Carthage, Coplin Plt., Dallas Plt., Eustis, Kingfield, Madrid, New Vineyard, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plt., Sandy River Plt., Strong, Temple, Weld and Unorganized Territories.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District for which they are elected and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Franklin County District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected from district number 2 by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner shall be elected from district number 3 by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner shall be elected from district

number I by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident of that district elected by the voters of that district.

Effective October 1, 1975

#### CHAPTER 335

AN ACT Relating to the Revised Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act. Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

14 MRSA c. 740, is enacted to read:

#### CHAPTER 740

#### UNIFORM ENFORCEMENT OF FOREIGN JUDGMENTS ACT

§ 8001. Short title

This Act may be cited as the Uniform Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act.

§ 8002. Definition

In this Act "foreign judgment" means any judgment, decree, or order of a court of the United States or of any other court which is entitled to full faith and credit in this State.

§ 8003. Filing and status of foreign judgments

A copy of any foreign judgment authenticated in accordance with the Act of Congress or the statutes of this State may be filed in the office of the clerk of any District Court or of any Superior Court of this State. The clerk shall treat the foreign judgment in the same manner as a judgment of the District Court or Superior Court of this State. A judgment so filed has the same effect and is subject to the same procedures, defenses and proceedings for reopening, vacating or staying as a judgment of the District Court or the Superior Court of this State and may be enforced or satisfied in like manner.

#### § 8004. Notice of filing

- 1. Affidavit to be filed; contents. At the time of the filing of the foreign judgment, the judgment creditor or his lawyer shall make and file with the clerk an affidavit setting forth the name and last known post office address of the judgment debtor and the judgment creditor.
- 2. Notification of judgment debtor by clerk. Promptly upon the filing of the foreign judgment and the affidavit, the clerk shall mail notice of the filing of the foreign judgment to the judgment debtor at the address given and shall make a note of the mailing in the docket. The notice shall include the name and post office address of the judgment creditor and the judgment creditor's lawyer, if any, in this State. In addition, the judgment creditor may mail a