

# LAWS

### OF THE

# STATE OF MAINE

### AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

### 1ST SPECIAL SESSION

JANUARY 2, 1974 TO MARCH 29, 1974

AND BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

### **REGULAR SESSION**

JANUARY 1, 1975 TO JULY 2, 1975

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REVISED STATUTES OF 1964, TITLE 3, SECTION 164, SUBSECTION 6.

The Knowlton and McLeary Company Farmington, Maine 1975

# PUBLIC LAWS

# OF THE OF MAINE

### AS PASSED BY THE

# One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

## 1975

For all approved blanks, forms or schedule paper required in probate court proceedings, the register shall charge fees which shall be set by the registrar and approved by the county commissioners, so as not to incur a loss to the county for such services. Such fees shall be payable by the register to the county treasurer for the use and benefit of the county.

Effective October 1, 1975

### CHAPTER 332

#### AN ACT to Establish 4-year Terms for County Commissioners.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 101 is amended to read:

#### § 101. Board membership; chairman

There shall be a board of commissioners for each county consisting of a chairman and 2 other citizens, all resident in the county, who shall be elected **every 4 years**, or in case of a vacancy, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Council. The chairman shall be designated by them at their first meeting on or after the first day of January annually, to act for one year. except that in Androscoggin County the elected member whose term soonest expires shall be chairman. If said elected member in Androscoggin County shall in writing decline the election as chairman, the board may, by ballot, elect either of the other members to be chairman

Sec. 2. 30 MRSA § 102, 2nd sentence, is amended to read:

The terms of office for a county commissioner shall be 64 years, except when one is elected to fill out an unexpired term when it shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Sec. 3. Transition. The transition to the 4-year term for county commissioners shall occur as each commissioner completes his present term of office. As the term of every present commissioner expires, the succeeding commissioner shall be elected to a 4-year term in office.

Effective October 1, 1975

#### CHAPTER 333

AN ACT to Establish County Commissioner Districts in Lincoln County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-S is enacted to read:

§ 105-S. Creation of Lincoln County Commissioner Districts

Lincoln County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

#### **PUBLIC LAWS, 1975**

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Southport, Wiscasset and Westport;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Waldoboro, Bristol, Bremen, Nobleboro, South Bristol and Monhegan Plantation;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Alna, Damariscotta, Dresden, Edgecomb, Jefferson, Newcastle, Somerville and Whitefield.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to election of county commissioner by district in Lincoln County shall be made in the following manner: In 1976, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 1 for a term of 6 years. In 1978, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 2 for a term of 6 years. In 1980, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 3 for a term of 6 years. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner resident in the district and elected by the district on the board of commissioners.

Effective October 1, 1975

#### CHAPTER 334

AN ACT Creating Franklin County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-U is enacted to read:

§ 105-U. Creation of Franklin County Commissioner Districts

Franklin County shall be divided into the 3 following districts:

Commissioner District number one, consisting of the municipalities of Jay and Wilton;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Chesterville, Farmington, Industry and New Sharon;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Avon, Carrabassett Valley, Carthage, Coplin Plt., Dallas Plt., Eustis, Kingfield, Madrid, New Vineyard, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plt., Sandy River Plt., Strong, Temple, Weld and Unorganized Territories.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District for which they are elected and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Franklin County District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected from district number 2 by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner shall be elected from district number 3 by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner shall be elected from district