

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1ST SPECIAL SESSION

JANUARY 2, 1974 TO MARCH 29, 1974

AND BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

REGULAR SESSION

JANUARY 1, 1975 TO JULY 2, 1975

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REVISED STATUTES OF 1964, TITLE 3, SECTION 164, SUBSECTION 6.

The Knowlton and McLeary Company Farmington, Maine 1975

PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

1975

CHAPTER 277

AN ACT to Permit the Disposal of Moose Killed in Motor Vehicle Accidents. Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows: 12 MRSA § 2951 is amended to read:

§ 2951. Collision with deer or moose; procedure

The resident owner of every motor vehicle which has been substantially damaged by accidental collision with a deer or moose shall, within 24 hours thereafter, report the accident to a game warden. The warden shall investigate and, if he finds the damage has been done as alleged, he shall give a certificate to such person entitling such person to the ownership of the carcass to be possessed and consumed only within the immediate family of the owner of said vehicle. No person entitled to the ownership of a deer or moose carcass under this section shall take possession or remove any portion of that carcass unless he takes possession and removes the entire carcass from the scene of the collision.

Effective October 1, 1975

CHAPTER 278

AN ACT Relating to Fire Protection for Township 8, R. 4 and Township 10, R. 6.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

30 MRSA § 1201, first sentence, as last amended by PL 1973, c. 118, § 1, is further amended to read:

The county commissioners of Aroostook County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of Connor and Silver Ridge Townships, of **Township 8, R. 4, Township 10, R. 6,** Township 14, R. 6, Township 15, R. 6, Township 16, R. 4, Township 16, R. 6, Township 17, R. 4 and Township 17, R. 5, and the county commissioners of Franklin County are authorized, on behalf of Township 3, R. 2, BKPWKR (Jerusalem), Township 4, R. 2, BKPWKR (Sugarloaf Township) and the Townships of Salem and Freeman, and the county commissioners of Hancock County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of Township 8, S.D., and the county commissioners of Oxford County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of Albany and Milton Townships, and the county commissioners of Argyle and Kingman Townships and the county commissioners of Somerset County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of Rockwood Township to enter into contracts on such terms as they deem fit with one or more persons, associations or municipalities, or to take such other steps as they deem advisable, to provide fire protection, other than forest fire protection, for the Township 14, R. 6, Township 15, R. 6, Township 16, R. 4, Township 16, R. 4, Township 17, R. 4, Township 17, R. 5, Township 3, R. 2 (Jerusalem), Township 4, R. 2 (Sugarloaf Township), Township 8, S.D., Salem, Freeman, Albany, Milton, Argyle, Kingman and Rockwood.