MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1ST SPECIAL SESSION

JANUARY 2, 1974 TO MARCH 29, 1974

AND BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

REGULAR SESSION

JANUARY 1, 1975 TO JULY 2, 1975

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REVISED STATUTES OF 1964, TITLE 3, SECTION 164, SUBSECTION 6.

THE KNOWLTON AND McLeary Company Farmington, Maine 1975

PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

1975

CHAPTER 225

AN ACT to Repeal Certain Unconstitutional Provisions of the Election Laws.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

21 MRSA § 247, as enacted by PL 1973, c. 782, § 1-B, is repealed.

Effective October 1, 1975

CHAPTER 226

AN ACT Creating Kennebec County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-Q is enacted to read:

§ 105-Q. Creation of Kennebec County Commissioner Districts

Kennebec County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one, consisting of the municipalities of Augusta, Chelsea, Pittston, Randolph, Sidney, Vassalboro and Windsor;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Belgrade, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Litchfield, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Readfield, Rome, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and Winthrop;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Albion, Benton, China, Clinton, Unity Township, Waterville and Winslow;

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Kennebec County District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected from district one by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner from district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner from district 3 shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident of that district elected by the voters of that district.