MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1ST SPECIAL SESSION

JANUARY 2, 1974 TO MARCH 29, 1974

AND BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

REGULAR SESSION

JANUARY 1, 1975 TO JULY 2, 1975

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REVISED STATUTES OF 1964, TITLE 3, SECTION 164, SUBSECTION 6.

THE KNOWLTON AND McLeary Company Farmington, Maine 1975

PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Seventh Legislature

1975

Penobscot County shall be divided in to the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Bangor and Brewer;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Clifton, Eddington, Holden, Orrington, Hampden, Newburgh, Dixmont, Veazie, Orono, Hermon, Carmel, Etna, Plymouth, Newport, Stetson, Levant, Kenduskeag, Glenburn, Corinna, Exeter, Corinth, Dexter and Garland;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Mount Chase Plt., Patten, Stacyville, Millinocket, East Millinocket, Medway, Woodville, Mattawamkeag, Kingman Township, Drew Plt., Seboeis Plt., Chester, Winn, Webster Plt., Prentiss Plt., Maxfield, Howland, Enfield, Lincoln, Lee, Springfield, Carroll Plt., Lakeville Plt., Burlington, Lowell, Grand Falls Plt., Greenbush, Greenfield, Milford, Bradley, Old Town, Alton, Lagrange, Edinburg, Argyle, Bradford, Hudson, Charleston, Passadumkeag, Indian Island and the unorganized territory of northern Penobscot County.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district from which they were elected and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Penobscot County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.

Effective October 1, 1975

CHAPTER 146

AN ACT to Increase the Fee for Registration of Teachers.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

20 MRSA § 1801, as amended by PL 1967, c. 425, § 19, is further amended to read:

§ 1801. Registration; list furnished; fee

Any person holding a state teachers' certificate, or eligible to receive such, may, upon the payment of \$3 \$5 and upon application to the commissioner in

such manner as may be prescribed by him, register as a candidate for employment as a teacher in the public schools within the State. It shall be the duty of the said commissioner to furnish to school committees, school directors or superintendents of schools, upon request, information relative to persons registered and to furnish persons thus registered information relative to vacancies in positions in public schools within the State. Neither the said commissioner nor any person employed under his direction shall be held responsible for, nor be understood to vouch for, the fitness or success of any teacher who may secure a position in a public school through the operation of this section, nor shall the acceptance of this enrollment and the payment of the required fee be construed as a guarantee for securing employment as a teacher. The payment of the above fee shall entitle the person registering to the benefit of such registration for a period of 3 years one year.

Effective October 1, 1975

CHAPTER 147

AN ACT to Prohibit the Department of Inland Fisheries and Game from Issuing Licenses to Persons Convicted of Certain Offenses.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 12 MRSA § 2402, 13th ¶, as last repealed and replaced by PL 1971, c. 231, § 9, is repealed.

Sec. 2. 12 MRSA § 2403 is enacted to read:

§ 2403. Issuance of license to persons convicted of certain offenses prohibited

Any person, who has been found guilty of breaking and entering a building located within the unorganized territories, or of larceny of any equipment used for trapping or hunting or of any animal or parts of animals which have been obtained by trapping or hunting which were in the possession or control of the person who trapped or hunted those animals, shall not be eligible thereafter to obtain any license issued by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Game, unless the conviction for breaking and entering or larceny was a first conviction, in which case the person convicted shall not be eligible to obtain any license issued by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Game within 2 years of the date of that first conviction.

Effective October 1, 1975

CHAPTER 148

AN ACT to Protect the Rights of Persons Seeking Benefits under Maine's Workmen's Compensation Law.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

39 MRSA § 52, 2nd ¶, as last amended by PL 1973, c. 389, is repealed and the following enacted in place thereof: