

ACTS, RESOLVES AND CONSTITUTIONAL RESOLUTIONS

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

Published by the Director of Legislative Research in accordance with the Revised Statutes of 1964, Title 3, Section 164, Subsection 6.

THE KNOWLTON AND MCLEARY COMPANY FARMINGTON, MAINE 1973

PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1973

York County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Acton, Berwick, Buxton, Cornish, Eliot, Hollis, Kittery, Lebanon, Limerick, Limington, Newfield, North Berwick, South Berwick, Parsonsfield and Waterboro;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Arundel, Biddeford, Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells and York;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Alfred, Dayton, Lyman, Old Orchard Beach, Saco, Sanford and Shapleigh.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the York County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1974, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 3. In 1976, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district I. In 1978, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 2. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

Effective October 3, 1973

CHAPTER 499

AN ACT to Provide a Minimum Fine for Obstructing Justice.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

R. S., T. 17, § 2952, amended. The first sentence of section 2952 of Title 17 of the Revised Statutes, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

Whoever assaults, intimidates or in any manner willfully obstructs, intimidates or hinders any sheriff, deputy sheriff, constable, inland fish and game warden, coastal warden, forest ranger, employee or authorized representative of the Board of Environmental Protection, Insurance Commissioner or his authorized representative, liquor inspector, police officer or state probationparole officer while in the lawful discharge of his official duties, whether with or without process, shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 or by imprisonment for not more than 11 months. The court may further order that restitution be made for damage to the property of a law enforcement officer resulting from any act or acts that have been found to be in violation of this section.

Effective October 3, 1973