## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### ACTS, RESOLVES AND CONSTITUTIONAL RESOLUTIONS

#### AS PASSED BY THE

# One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE

Published by the Director of Legislative Research in accordance with the Revised Statutes of 1964, Title 3, Section 164, Subsection 6.

THE KNOWLTON AND McLeary Company
Farmington, Maine
1973

### PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE
One Hundred and Sixth Legislature

1973

#### CHAPTER 312

AN ACT Creating Aroostook County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-A, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-A to read as follows:

§ 105-A. Creation of Aroostook County Commissioner Districts

Aroostook County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Amity, Bancroft, Benedicta, Blaine, Bridgewater, Castle Hill, Cary Plt., Chapman, Cox Patent, Crystal, Dyer Brook, Dudley, E Plt., Hammond Plt., Haynesville, Hersey, Hodgdon, Houlton, Island Falls, Linneus, Littleton, Ludlow, Macwahoc Plt., Mapleton, Mars Hill, Merrill, Monticello, Moro Plt., Molunkus, New Limerick, Oakfield, Orient, Reed Plt., Sherman, Smyrna, Westfield, Weston, Silver Ridge Twp., TAR2, TAR5 (Molunkus), TCR2, TDR2, T1R4 (North Yarmouth Academy Grant), T1R4 (Upper Molunkus), 1R5, 2R4, 3R2, 3R3, 3R4, 4R3, 7R3, 7R4 (Webbertown), 7R5, 8R3, 8R4 (St. Croix), 8R5, 9R3, 9R4, 9R5, 10R3, 10R4 (Squapan), 11R4 WELS.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Allagash Plt., Ashland, Caribou, Eagle Lake, Easton, Ft. Fairfield, Garfield Plt., Masardis, Nashville Plt., New Canada Plt., Oxbow Plt., Perham, Portage Lake, Presque Isle, St. Francis Plt., St. John Plt., Wade, Wallagrass Plt., Washburn, Westmanland Plt., Winterville Plt., 9R7, 9R8, 10R6, 10R7, 10R8, 11R7, 11R8, 11R9, 11R10, 11R11, 11R12, 11R13, 11R14, 11R15, 11R16, 11R17, 12R7, 12R8, 12R9, 12R10, 12R11, 12R12, 12R13, 12R14, 12R15, 12R16, 12R17, 13R5, 13R7, 13R8, 13R9, 13R10, 13R11, 13R12, 13R13, 13R14, 13R15, 13R16, 14R5, 14R6, 14R7, 14R8, 14R9, 14R10, 14R11, 14R12, 14R13, 14R14, 14R15, 14R16, 15R5, 15R6, 15R8, 15R9, 15R10, 15R11, 15R12, 15R13, 15R14, 15R15, 16R4, 16R5, 16R6, 16R8, 16R9, 16R12, 16R13, 16R14, 17R3, 17R4, 17R5, 17R12, 17R13, 17R14, 18R10, 18R11, 18R12, 18R13, 19R11, 19R12, 20R11, 20R12 WELS.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Caswell Plt., Connor, Cyr Plt., Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Hamlin Plt., Limestone, Madawaska, New Sweden, St. Agatha, Stockholm, Van Buren and Woodland.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Aroostook County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1974 a commissioner resident of district 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1976 a commissioner resident of district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner resident of district one shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from the district on the board.