# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### **ACTS AND RESOLVES**

AS PASSED BY THE

## Ninety-fifth Legislature

OF THE

### STATE OF MAINE

Published by the Director of Legislative Research in accordance with subsection VI of section 26 of chapter 9 of the Revised Statutes of 1944.

KENNEBEC JOURNAL AUGUSTA, MAINE 1951

### RESOLVES

OF THE

### STATE OF MAINE

As Passed by the Ninety-fifth Legislature

1951

#### Chapter 132

#### RESOLVE, Dividing the State into Senatorial Districts.

Apportionment of senatorial districts. Resolved: That for the 96th legislature and the succeeding legislatures to and including that of the year 1961, the state be, and hereby is, divided into 16 districts for the choice of senators, and each district shall be entitled to elect the number of senators herein provided, in the manner prescribed by the constitution.

The County of York shall form the 1st district, and be entitled to elect 3 senators.

The County of Cumberland shall form the 2nd district, and be entitled to elect 4 senators.

The County of Oxford shall form the 3rd district, and be entitled to elect 2 senators.

The County of Androscoggin shall form the 4th district, and be entitled to elect 3 senators.

The County of Franklin shall form the 5th district, and be entitled to elect 1 senator.

The County of Sagadahoc shall form the 6th district, and be entitled to elect I senator.

The County of Kennebec shall form the 7th district, and be entitled to elect 3 senators.

The County of Somerset shall form the 8th district, and be entitled to elect 2 senators.

The County of Piscataquis shall form the 9th district, and be entitled to elect I senator.

The County of Penobscot shall form the 10th district, and be entitled to elect 3 senators.

The County of Lincoln shall form the 11th district, and be entitled to elect 1 senator.

The County of Knox shall form the 12th district, and be entitled to elect 1 senator.

The County of Waldo shall form the 13th district, and be entilted to elect 1 senator.

The County of Hancock shall form the 14th district, and be entitled to elect 2 senators.

1070

**CHAP. 134** 

RESOLVES, 1951

The County of Washington shall form the 15th district, and be entitled to elect 2 senators.

The County of Aroostook shall form the 16th district, and be entitled to elect 3 senators.

Effective August 20, 1951

#### Chapter 133

RESOLVE, to Construct and Equip a Hospital Building at Central Maine Sanatorium.

Building to be constructed and equipped. Resolved: That there be, and hereby is, appropriated the sum of \$518,000 from the general fund surplus at such time as the governor with the consent of the council may determine that sufficient funds are available in the general fund surplus account without reducing the surplus balance to a point where it may be detrimental to the normal operations of state government to construct and equip a 50-bed brick and cement building, complete with operating room, at Central Maine Sanatorium, Fairfield.

This appropriation shall not lapse but shall remain a continuing carrying account until the purposes of this resolve have been accomplished.

Effective August 20, 1951

### Chapter 134

RESOLVE, Proposing an Amendment to the Constitution to Provide for a Bond Issue in the Amount of \$3,000,000, the Proceeds of Which to be Expended for the Erection of a State Office Building.

Constitutional amendment. Resolved: Two-thirds of each branch of the legislature concurring, that the following amendment to the constitution of this state be proposed:

Constitution, Art. IX, Section 21, additional. Article IX of the constitution is hereby amended by adding thereto a new section to be numbered 21, to read as follows:

'Section 21. The state, under authority of proper enactment of the legislature, may issue its bonds not to exceed the amount of three million dollars