

ACTS AND RESOLVES

OF THE

SEVENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1911

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 18, 1840, and March 16, 1842

AUGUSTA KENNEBEC JOURNAL PRINT 1911

RESOLVES

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

1911

FINANCIAL CONDITION-HIGHWAYS-COUNCILLOR DISTRICTS.

Chapter 223.

Resolve in favor of the Joint Special Committee appointed to investigate the Financial Condition of the State.

Resolved, that the governor with the consent of the council Joint special committee, ip the actual expense which favor of. may be incurred by the joint special committee to investigate the financial condition of the state. Such payment to be made from any unexpended money in the treasury.

Approved March 31, 1911.

Chapter 224.

Resolve authorizing the Governor and Council to use any unexpended balance in the Treasury for the Care and Maintenance of Bridges and Highways.

Resolved, that the governor and council are hereby author- In favor of state bridges ized to use from the unexpended balance in the treasury such and highsums as they may deem necessary for the repair of bridges owned by the state and for the repair and maintenance of highways on public lands.

Approved March 31, 1911.

Chapter 225.

Resolve dividing the State into Executive Councillor Districts.

Resolved, that for the years nineteen hundred and thirteen to and including the year nineteen hundred and twenty-two the state is hereby divided into seven councillor districts, each of state into. which districts shall be entitled to one councillor to be chosen in the manner prescribed by the constitution and laws of the state, as follows:

First: Oxford, 1913, 1914, 1921, 1922; York, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1920.

Second: Cumberland, one for each year.

Third: Androscoggin, 1913, 1914, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922; Franklin, 1915, 1916; Sagadahoc, 1917, 1918.

Fourth: Kennebec, 1913, 1914, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922; Somerset, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918.

Fifth: Waldo, 1913, 1914; Hancock, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918; Knox, 1919, 1920; Lincoln, 1921, 1922.

Councillor districts, vision of d1-

ways.

Снар. 223

829

Снар. 226

Sixth: Penobscot, 1913, 1914, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922; Piscataquis, 1915, 1916.

Seventh: Aroostook, 1913, 1914, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922; Washington, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918.

Approved March 31, 1911.

Chapter 226.

Resolve, to apportion one hundred and fifty-one representatives among the several counties, cities, towns, plantations and classes in the State of Maine.

Resolved, that for the seventy-sixth legislature to and including that of the year nineteen hundred and twenty-one:

The county of Androscoggin shall choose twelve representatives to be apportioned as follows: Lewiston, five representatives; Auburn, three representatives; Lisbon, one representative; Poland, Mechanic Falls, Greene and Leeds, one representative; East Livermore, Livermore and Turner, one representative; Webster, Wales, Durham and Minot one representative.

The county of Aroostook shall choose fifteen representatives to be apportioned as follows: Hersey, Island Falls, Crystal, Sherman, Benedicta, Silver Ridge, Molunkus, Macwahoc, three, range four, two, range four, one, range four and one, range five, one representative; Linneus, Hodgdon, Cary, A, range two, Leavitt, Amity, three, range three, Glenwood, Haynesville, Orient, Weston, Bancroft, Reed, and four, range three, one representative; Houlton, one representative; Dyer Brook, Oakfield, Moro, Merrill, Smyrna, Limerick, Ludlow, Hammond, Littleton, seven, range three, seven, range four, seven, range five, eight, range three, eight, range four and eight, range five, one representative; Monticello, Bridgewater, Blaine, Mars Hill, C plantation, D plantation and E plantation, one representative; Easton, Westfield, Chapman, Mapleton, Washburn, nine, range three, and ten, range three, one representative; Presque Isle, one representative; Fort Fairfield, one representative; Caribou, one representative; Limestone, Caswell, Connor, New Sweden, Westmanland, Stockholm, Woodland, and sixteen, range four, one representative; Van Buren, Hamlin, Cyr, Grand Isle, seventeen, range three, one representative; Frenchville, St. Agatha and Madawaska, one representative; Fort Kent and Wallagrass, one representative; Eagle Lake, Hill, Allagash, St. Francis, St. John, New Canada, seventeen, range four, seventeen, range five, sixteen, range five, fifteen, range six, fourteen, range