

#### ACTS AND RESOLVES

OF THE

## FIFTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE.

### 1875.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 28, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

AUGUSTA:

SPRAGUE, OWEN & NASH, PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1875.

## PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

# STATE OF MAINE.

1875.

#### Снар. 142.

First meeting, how called. SECT. 3. O. L. Billings is hereby authorized to call the first meeting of said corporation, by posting up notices in two or more public places in Topsham, ten days at least before the meeting of said corporation.

SECT. 4. This act shall take effect approved.

Approved February 18, 1875.

#### Chapter 142.

An act to incorporate the Canton and Dixfield Cheese Factory.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows :

SECT. 1. John W. Howe, Sewall Dunn, Adelbert Delano, D. M. Foster, A. R. Foster, and Granville Child, their associates and successors, are hereby constituted a corporation by the name of the Canton and Dixfield Cheese Factory.

Corporators.

Corporate name.

Capital stock and shares.

May hold real and personal estate. Rules and regulations.

First meeting, where held and how called. SECT 2. This association may have a capital stock not exceeding three thousand dollars, to be divided into such number of shares as they may decide; may hold real and personal estate to that amount; may make such rules and regulations as are necessary for the management of their affairs, and shall hold and exercise all the powers and privileges usually granted companies for the purpose of engaging in associated dairying.

SECT. 3. The first meeting of said corporation shall be held in Canton, and called by John W. Howe, by giving seven days' notice in writing to the other incorporators thereof.

SECT. 4. This act shall take effect when approved.

Approved February 18, 1875.

#### Chapter 143.

An act to incorporate the Lewiston and Augusta Railroad Company.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Leyislature assembled, as follows :

Corporators.

SECT. 1. James Wood, John Y. Scruton, S. D. Thomas, F. I. Day, P. McGillicuddy, A. D. Cornish, Joseph W. Perkins, D. Holland, J. L. H. Cobb, N. W. Dutton, George H. Pillsbury, J. G. Coburn, Edmund Russell, J. B. Ham, S. D. Wakefield, Sylvester Oakes, J. H. Roak, Ara Cushman, J. Dingley, junior, H. R. Smith, John N. Wood, P. C. Tarbox, Joseph H. Day, John B. Garcelon, Allen P. Winslow, George A. Callahan, N. O. Mitchell, Joshua