MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

OF THE

FIFTIETH LEGISLATURE,

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1871.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

RESOLVES

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1871.

Снар. 285.

Chapter 285.

Resolve in favor of the state reform school.

Reform School, in

Resolved, That the sum of eleven thousand nine hundred fifty dollars, for the ordinary expenses of the school; to make additions to the library, one hundred dollars; for introducing steam-heating apparatus, five thousand three hundred twenty-five dollars; making in all, seventeen thousand three hundred and seventy-five dollars, be and is hereby appropriated for the benefit of the state reform school, for the fiscal year ending in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-two.

Approved February 27, 1871.

Chapter 286.

Resolve to apportion one hundred and fifty-one representatives among the several counties, oities, towns, plantations and classes, in the State of Maine.

Representative apportionment.

Androscoggin.

Resolved, That for the fifty-first legislature, and the succeeding legislatures to and including that of the year one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one, the county of Androscoggin shall choose nine representatives, to be apportioned as follows, to wit:

Lewiston, three; Auburn, two; Durham, Lisbon and Webster, one; Minot and Poland, one; Turner and Livermore, one; East Livermore Greene, Leeds and Wales, one.

Aroostook.

The county of Aroostook shall choose seven representatives, to be apportioned as follows:

Amity, Hodgdon, Linneus, Orient, Weston, and the plantations of Bancroft, Greenwood, Haynesville, number eleven range one, Oakfield, Glenwood, and all that portion of Aroostook county lying south of the north line of Oakfield, Linneus and Hodgdon, and east of the west line of the third range, one; Houlton, Littleton, Monticello, Ludlow, New Limerick, and the townships B and C in the second range, one; Bridgewater, Mars Hill, Easton, Presque Isle. Maysville, and the plantations of Alva, Castle Hill, Mapleton, Westfield, and the townships D and E in the second range, and numbers nine, ten and eleven in the third range, one; Fort Fairfield, Limestone, Lyndon, Washburn, and the plantations of Perham, Woodland, and township number fifteen in the third range, one; Madawaska, Grant Isle, the plantations of Hamlin, Van Buren, Cyr, and all that portion of Aroostook county lying east of the west line of range three, and north of the north line of Limestone, Lyndon, and number fifteen in the third range, one; Sherman, Smyrna, Masardis, Dalton, and the plantations of Crystal, Island Falls, Portage Lake, and all other plantations and townships in