

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

FORTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1867.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

> AUGUSTA: STEVENS & SAYWARD, PRINTERS TO THE STATE. 1867.

PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1867.

Rates of interest on

loans, limited and regulated, Chapter 299.

An act to authorize school district number three, in the town of Westbrook, to raise money for a school house.

Be it enacled by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

SECT. 1. The inhabitants of school district number three, in the town of Westbrook, are hereby empowered to pay interest at rates not exceeding seven and three-tenths per cent. per annum, for any sums of money that have been, or that may hereafter be legally voted to be raised on loan for the construction of the school-house which is now in process of erection in said district.

SECT. 2. This act shall take effect when approved by the governor.

Approved February 19, 1867.

Chapter 300.

An act to amend an act entitled "an act to incorporate the city of Calais," approved August twenty-fourth, eighteen hundred and fifty.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows :

SECT. 1. Section third of act entitled "an act to incorporate the city of Calais," approved August twenty-fourth, eighteen hundred and fifty, is hereby amended by adding at its close the words, nor shall any alderman or common councilman hold any other city office of emolument, so that the last clause of said section shall read :--but the aldermen and common councilmen shall receive no compensation for their services as such, nor shall any alderman or common councilman hold any other city office of emolument.

SECT. 2. This act shall take effect when approved by the governor.

Approved February 19, 1867.

Chapter 301.

An act to incorporate the trustces of the Passadumkeag Academy.

Be it enacted by the Senale and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Corporators.

SECT. 1. Elbridge G. Haynes, Ambrose Dennis, John H. Mc-Gregor, Charles G. Folsom, Christopher B. Roberts, John Humphrey, Dudley B. Bean, Frank Laing, Luna. B. Batchelor, Michael

Amondment.

Clause as amended.