MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

FORTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1867.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

A U G U S T A : STEVENS & SAYWARD, PRINTERS TO THE STATE. $1\,8\,6\,7\,.$

PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1867.

Снар. 278.

Chapter 278.

An act to incorporate the Maine Ship-builders and Ship-owners Association.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Corporators.

Sect. 1. Samuel Cony, Nathan G. Hichborn, Edwin Flye, John Patten, J. P. Morse, L. W. Houghton, S. A. Houghton, John R. Houghton, H. L. Houghton, William D. Sewall, S. D. Bailey, William Rogers, Arthur Sewall, Alfred Lemont, F. Reed, G. C. Goss, Henry McGilvery, Alex. Robinson, Alex. Black, E. W. Stetson, J. H. Stetson, William Hitchcock, Austin Hall, Thomas M. Reed, Joseph Day, E. C. Soule, H. S. Hagar, Isaiah Stetson, N. A. Farwell, Joseph Clark, B. C. Bailey, George F. Patten, Marshall Pierce, Alvah Mudgett, O. B. Rideout, Rowland Higgins, Dyer P. Jordan, Joseph T. Grant, John Black, E. Longfellow, W. C. Holway, J. L. Nash, S. W. Pope, P. S. J. Talbot, J. M. Wiswell, C. S. Huston, S. Ryerson, T. W. Allen, Joseph Wilder, John W. White, C. B. Haseltine, William H. Conner, B. D. Metcalf, D. W. Chapman, Samuel Watts, William Singer, Edward O'Brien, Frank Cobb, William V. Means, Edward Sewall, James Drummond, William Drummond, C. V. Minot, Charles S. Pennell, James M. Hagar, J. T. Southard, C. P. Carter, Alfred Carter, Alfred Johnson, Isaac Reed, Charles Houghton, James P. White, Samuel Skolfield, Richard McMannurs, J. W. Dyer, J. McLellan, C. F. Sargeant, N. Thompson, John Carver, William McGilvery, William Stetson, John L. Crosby, William Bradstreet, Peter Bradstreet, Richard Jackson, Samuel Chism, W. G. Sargeant, Samuel T. Hinds, G. W. Libby, J. Merithew, William McClure, J. W. Colcord, Andrew D. Griffin, John Littlefield, Isaac Dunning, S. D. Thurston, Samuel Bradford, Timothy Crosby, Abner Stetson, D. W. Chapman, and E. Norris, together with such other persons as may join them, are hereby constituted a body corporate, to be known by the name of the Maine Ship-builders and Ship-owners Association.

Capital and purpose.

Sect. 2. Said association may take and hold property, real or personal, to an amount, the annual income of which, shall not exceed two thousand dollars, to be applied to the advancement of the interests of the ship-builders and ship-owners of Maine.

Organization.

Sect. 3. The first meeting of said association shall be called by any five of the said corporators by giving notice in one or more daily papers of the state for one week.

Sect. 4. This act shall take effect when approved by the governor.

Approved February 14, 1867.