MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

THIRTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

1857.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

AUGUSTA:

STEVENS & BLAINE, PRINTERS TO THE STATE. 1857.

PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1857.

Снар. 107.

writing shall require of them prior to such location along and upon said CanaI street. And no such location shall be legal without entire compliance with such terms and conditions; and provided, always, that in making such change of location, the said company shall not locate any part of its railroad so as to interfere with the rights heretofore granted to the Lake Sebago Railroad Company, or any other corporation, without the written consent of said corporations first obtained.

Subject to general laws.

Clerk to file

SECT. 3. Said railroad company is hereby made subject to all the general laws of the state relating to railroads, and it shall not have the benefit of any of the provisions of this act until the clerk of said company shall file in the office of the secretary of state, a certificate, signed and sworn to by him, that this act has been accepted by a vote of the stockholders at a meeting thereof.

[Approved April 14, 1857.]

Chapter 107.

An act to change the names of certain persons.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Names changed.

Major Morton Wescott, of Harrison, shall be allowed SECT. 1. to take the name of Morton Wescott; Charles A. Shaw, adopted son of Rufus Carter, of Scarborough, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles A. Carter; Caroline Brimigeon, Mary Ann Brimigeon and Joseph Brimigeon, of Lisbon, shall be allowed to take the surname of Hilton; Sarah Jane Dicker, of Auburn, shall be allowed to take the name of Ida M. Gowell; Edwin W. Avery, of Mercer, shall be allowed to take the name of Edwin W. Pressy; Caleb Pottle, of Wiscasset, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles C. Pottle: George Rhodes, adopted son of James Palmer, of Camden, shall be allowed to take the name of George R. Palmer; Thomas Sylvanus M'Conkey, of Portland, shall be allowed to take the name of Thomas Sylvanus Clifford; Nathaniel Albert Nye, adopted son of Nathaniel Burrill, of Newport, shall be allowed to take the name of Nathaniel Albert Burrill; Samuel M. Higgins, of Eden, shall be allowed to take the name of John M. Higgins; Mary Ann Abbott, of Farmington, shall be allowed to take the name of Mary Ann Plaisted; Belinda D. Clark, of Gorham, shall be allowed to take the name of Binna D. McLellan; William T. O'Brien and Mathew O'Brien, of Bath, shall be allowed to take the surname of

Снар. 108.

Bryant; George J. Burns, of Rockland, shall be allowed to take the name of G. James Burns; Cinderalla Morang, of Eastport, shall be allowed to take the name of Delia Morang; Temperance Boyd, of Dexter, shall be allowed to take the name of Temperance Winslow; Amelia Haven Phipps, of Paris, shall be allowed to take the name of Amelia Haven Robinson; Francis Grovnor Penley, of Paris, shall be allowed to take the name of Francis Grovnor; Emily B. Marshall, of Dresden, shall be allowed to take the name of Emily B. Goud; Dennis O'Brien, of Berwick, shall be allowed to take the name of John D. Bryant.

SECT. 2. This act shall take effect from and after its approval by the governor.

[Approved April 14, 1857.]

Chapter 108.

An act to incorporate the Maine Bank at Brunswick.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

SECT. 1. Henry H. Boody, Charles J. Gilman, Isaac Lincoln, Corporators. Samuel R. Jackson, Robert Bowker, John D. Lincoln, James Ross, William W. Gross, Thomas Skolfield, Robert Pennell, Jr., Thomas C. Upham, Benjamin Furbish, Hugh McLellan, James Cary, Daniel Elliot, Nathaniel Davis, B. Dunning, J. G. Collins, Geo. F. Mustard, James Lunt, Jesse Snow, 2d, Samuel Webb, Isaac Center, Coan Jordan, H. C. Martin, N. Larrabee, Wm. S. Given, James Berry, George Woodside, John H. Marshall, William Woodside, Jacob Pennell, John W. Perry, Joseph D. Pennell, Harvey Stetson, Robert McManus, James Pennell, Wm. J. Harmon, C. C. Greenleaf, John Sherman, J. P. Booker, William Strout, Charles Boutelle, Rodney Forsaith, William G. Barrows, Robert S. Pennell, Benjamin Green, T. L. Stetson, Amos Oliver, L. B. Thompson, J. C. Thompson, Adam Lemont and C. S. Pennell, their associates, successors and assigns, are hereby incorporated into a company, by the name of the President, Directors and Company of Corporate name. the Maine Bank.

SECT. 2. The capital stock of said bank shall be seventy-five Capital stock thousand dollars, divided into shares of one hundred dollars each; Shares. and said bank shall be located and established in the town of Bruns- Location. wick, in the county of Cumberland; and said capital stock shall be