MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

THIRTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

1855.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

STEVENS & BLAINE, PRINTERS TO THE STATE, $\frac{1855}{.}$

ALI A VIDA

CIVIL GOVERNMENT

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

FOR THE POLITICAL YEAR

1855.

ANSON P. MORRILL, Governor.

COUNCIL.

NOAH SMITH, Jr., MARSHALL CRAM, ABNER COBURN,

FRANKLIN CLARK, HENRY RICHARDSON, CHARLES DANFORTH,

AMMI CUTTER.

ISAAC F. QUINBY, Messenger.

ALDEN JACKSON, Secretary of State.
WOODBURY DAVIS, Treasurer of State.
JAMES R. BACHELDER, Adjutant General, ISAAC R. CLARK, Land Agent.

SENATE.

FRANKLIN MUZZY, President.

matrice (Construction)	
First Senatorial District,	ALEXANDER DENNETT,
	JOHN N. GOODWIN,
	JOHN F. SCAMMON.
Second Senatorial District,	HENRY A. BOODY,
	NATHANIEL PEASE,
	AARON QUINBY,
	WILLIAM WILLIS.
Third Senatorial District,	ALONZO GARCELON,
	GEORGE THORNDIKE,
	CORNELIUS TURNER,
	SEWALL WATSON.
Fourth Senatorial District,	JOSEPH EATON,
	AUGUSTUS SPRAGUE,
	HENRY P. TORSEY,
Fifth Senatorial District,	MINOT CREHORE,
	THEOPHILUS CUSHING,
	NATHAN G. HICHBORN.
Sixth Senatorial District,	WILLIAM BARKER,
	MARK SHEPARD.
Seventh Senatorial District,	GEORGE DOWNES,
	SAMUEL F. ADAMS.
Eighth Senatorial District,	NATHANIEL BLAKE,
Ninth Senatorial District,	NEWELL BLAKE,
	HIRAM RUGGLES,
	FRANKLIN MUZZY.
Tenth Senatorial District,	JOHN ELLIOT.
Eleventh Senatorial District,	JAMES B. DASCOMB,
	WILLIAM R. FLINT.
Twelfth Senatorial District,	ALVAN CURRIER.
Thirteenth Senatorial District,	MARK H. DUNNELL,
	TIMOTHY WALKER.

LOUIS O. COWAN, Secretary.

JOSEPH W. KNOWLTON, Assistant Secretary.

EDWIN FREEMAN, Messenger.

JAMES SHAW, Assistant Messenger.

The several Clergymen of Augusta and Hallowell officiate as Chaplains of the Senate, in rotation.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

SIDNEY PERHAM, Speaker.

COUNTY OF ANDROSCOGGIN.

Gilman D. Garland, East Livermore, Jacob B. Ham, Lewiston, Tristram Hill, Greene. Sylvester Oakes, Auburn, Poland, William Stanton, Isaiah Woodman, Minot, Turner, William Bray, Hezekiah Gerrish. Durham,

COUNTY OF AROOSTOOK.

Hodgdon, George W. Haskell,
Fort Fairfield, Stephen B. Pattee,
Houlton, Ebenezer Woodbury.

COUNTY OF CUMBERLAND.

Freeport, George Bacon, George W. Barrows, Harrison, Cumberland, Sewall Blanchard, Bridgton, Luke Brown, Portland, Charles G. Came. do. Samuel R. Leavitt, do. William W. Thomas, Sebago, Oliver D. Dike, Brunswick, Benjamin Furbish, Westbrook, George Libbey, Robert McLaughlin, jr., Scarborough, New Gloucester, Hiram P. Osgood, Cape Elizabeth, Enoch L. Pillsbury, Harpswell, Clement Skolfield, Gray, James Small, jr., Gorham, Jacob C. Baker, Standish, Theodore M. Bradbury.

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN.

Chesterville, Elias H. Brown,
Phillips, William H. Josselyn,
Strong, Jeremy W. Porter,
Wilton, Abel H. Weeks,
Temple, James J. York.

COUNTY OF HANCOCK.

Ellsworth, Benjamin Barker,
Bucksport, Rufus Buck,
Brooksville, James W. Coombs,
Hancock, Thomas Curry,

COUNTY OF HANCOCK-Continued

Penobscot, Surry, Franklin, Deer Isle, Eden. Ebenezer Hutchings, Hezekiah Means, Samuel Wasson, Benjamin Raynes, Samuel H. Richards.

COUNTY OF KENNEBEC.

Gardiner,
Winthrop,
Augusta,
do.
Litchfield,
Waterville,
China,
Hallowell,
Albion,
Vassalborough,
Monmouth,
Belgrade,
Pittston,
Clinton,

John Berry, jr.,
Benjamin H. Cushman,
Edward Fenno,
Samuel Titcomb,
Mark Getchell,
Moses Hanscom,
Eli Jones,
Rodney G. Lincoln,
John T. Main,
William Merrill,
Charles S. Norris,
Stephen Smith,
Hiram T. Clark,
Samuel Hains.

COUNTY OF LINCOLN.

New Castle,
Patricktown,
Rockland,
Washington,
Jefferson,
Wiscasset,
Dresden,
Waldoborough,
Nobleborough,
Westport,
St. George,
Thomaston,
Cushing,
Bristol,

Algernon S. Austin,
Josiah Bruce,
Nathaniel A. Burpee,
Aaron Clark,
John Murphy, jr.,
Elisha McKenney,
Seth Patterson,
Meaubec M. Rawson,
Lyman H. Winslow,
Ebenezer Greenleaf,
George Gilchrist,
Edward O'Brien,
Isaac Payson,
David Chamberlain.

COUNTY OF OXFORD.

Woodstock, Fryeburg, Oxford, Andover, Paris, Letter B. Denmark, Dixfield, Sweden, Sidney Perham, speaker,
Nathaniel Charles,
Charles Durell,
Samuel Poor,
Rufus S. Stevens,
Charles Abbott,
Leonard K. Ingalls,
Isaac Park,
Charles C. Sanderson.

COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT.

william Banton, Lagrange, Dexter, Hiram Carr, Daniel S. Chapin, Brewer, Eddington, Elijah Comins, Elias Doble, Etna, Bangor, John B. Hill, George W. Ingersoll, do. Gideon Mayo, Orono, Kenduskeag, Oliver K. Nason, William P. Stevens, Springfield, Hampden, Amasa K. Walker, James H. Johnson, Hermon, James H. Burgess, Oldtown. Enfield. Smith Gilman. Thomas K. Holt, Garland, James Rogers. Stetson.

COUNTY OF PISCATAQUIS.

Asa Smith.

Orneville, Samuel Blake,
Atkinson, Benjamin R. Lake,
Shirley, Isaac Phillips,
Wellington, George W. Stanton.

Mattawamkeag,

COUNTY OF SAGADAHOC.

Georgetown,
Bath,
John Hinkley,
James M. Lincoln,
Topsham,
Humphrey P. Mallett,
Richmond,
Collamore Purrington.

COUNTY OF SOMERSET.

Ripley, George Cutler, Lexington, Thomas Hutchins, Fairfield, William B. Snell, Alvinzy Whitcomb, Mercer, Anson, John Heald, John Hight, Athens, Skowhegan, James T. Leavitt, Moscow, Joseph S. Nichols, Thomas J. Pratt. Palmyra,

COUNTY OF WALDO.

Camden, Hanson Andrews,
Frankfort, T. H. Cushing,
Thorndike, Elihu Files,
Troy, Samuel Heald,
Hope, Josiah Hobbs,
Searsport, William McGilvery,

COUNTY OF WALDO-Continued.

Belfast, Salathael C. Nickerson,
Swanville, Miles S. Staples,
Montville, James L. Twitchell,
Islesborough, Calvin Eames,
Freedom, Robert Elliot,
Lincolnville, John Miller.

COUNTY OF WASHINGTON.

Joseph Gunnison. Eastport, Milbridge, James Wallace, Isaac W. Bridges, Medybemps, Daniel K. Hobart, Edmunds, William S. Peavey, Whiting, Topsfield, John B. Pike. Cutler. Ellery Turner, Whitneyville, Nathan Batchelder. Daniel K. Chase, Calais, Robert Cole. Harrington,

COUNTY OF YORK.

Leonard Andrews. Biddeford. George Gilman, Hollis, Ivory Hall, Alfred, Andrew Leighton, Elliot. Ansel Merrill, Buxton, Levi Remick, Kittery, Seth Scammon, Saco, James M. Stone, Kennebunkport, Alpheus Trafton, Cornish, Sanford, Nehemiah Butler, Waterborough, Joseph Chase, Josiah Chase, York, Enoch Goodale, Wells, Ebenezer Ricker, Acton, Berwick, Samuel Stillings, Parsonsfield, John B. Sweat.

HENRY K. BAKER, Clerk.
BENJAMIN FREEMAN, Assistant Clerk.
BENJAMIN B. THOMAS, Messenger.
STEPHEN R. PORTER, Assistant Messenger.
HEZEKIAH B. TRAFTON, 2d Ass't Messenger.
JAMES F. ELLIS, Page.

The several Clergymen of Augusta and Hallowell officiate as Chaplains of the House, in rotation.