MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

A.D. 1852.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

Augusta:

WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, PRINTER TO THE STATE.

RESOLVES

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1852.

CHAP. 447. Chapter 447.

Resolve in favor of the Reform School.

Resolved, That there be appropriated from the treasury the \$25,000 sum of twenty-five thousand dollars for completing and putting in operation the reform school.

appropriated.

[Approved April 22, 1852.]

Chapter 448.

Resolve for apportioning one hundred and fifty-one representatives among the several counties, cities, towns, plantations and classes in the state of Maine.

Resolved, That the county of Aroostook shall choose three Representarepresentatives, to be apportioned as follows, to wit:

tive apportion-Aroostook co.

Hodgdon, New Limerick, number five range three, number five range four, number five range five, and all towns, plantations, and townships south of the before mentioned towns and townships in the county, one; Houlton, Belfast Academy grant, Smyrna, number six range four, number six range five, and all towns, townships and plantations, north to the south line of the following townships, to wit: D range one, G range two, number twelve range three, twelve range four, twelve range five, twelve range six, twelve range seven, one; all towns, plantations, townships and territory north of the south line of number twelve range seven, number twelve range six, number twelve range five, number twelve range four, number twelve range three, G range two, D range one, to the north line of the county, one.

That the county of Cumberland shall choose twenty-one representatives, to be apportioned as follows:

City of Portland three; Brunswick, one; Westbrook, one; Cumberland. Gorham, one; Auburn, one; Bridgton, one; Poland, one; Freeport, one; Minot and Danville, one; New Gloucester and Raymond, one; Gray and Otisfield, one; Scarborough and North Yarmouth, one; Cape Elizabeth and Casco, one; Standish and Naples, one; Cumberland, one for the years eighteen fifty-three, eighteen hundred fifty-five, eighteen hundred fiftyeight and eighteen hundred sixty; Falmouth, one for the years eighteen hundred fifty-four, eighteen hundred fifty-six, eighteen hundred fifty-seven, eighteen hundred fifty-nine, eighteen hundred sixty-one and eighteen hundred sixty-two; Windham and Sebago, one; Harrison and Baldwin, one; Durham, one