MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

TWENTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

A.D.1847.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

Augusta:

WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, PRINTER TO THE STATE.

1847.

PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

1847.

Harrison Lowell, James Smith, junior, Otis Holmes, Richard M. CHAP. 70. Chapman, George A. Warren, Daniel S. Hooper, Elisha Perkins and Jonathan Chapman, their associates, successors and assigns be, and hereby are incorporated into a company by the name of the Corporate name. president, directors and company of the Biddeford Bank.

SECT. 2. The capital stock of said bank shall be one hundred Capital stock, thousand dollars, divided into shares of one hundred dollars each; and said bank shall be located and established in Biddeford, in the county of York.

SECT. 3. The said corporators are hereby authorized and em- Powers, privileges and liabilipowered to exercise all the rights and privileges conferred upon such tios. corporations by the laws of this state, and subject to all the liabilities and restrictions thereof.

[Approved July 26, 1847.]

Chapter 70.

An act to change the names of certain persons.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

George N. Doughty, of Portland, is hereby allowed to take the Names of certain name of George Nathaniel Littlejohn; Frederick Foster, of Portland, minor son of John T. Foster, shall be allowed to take the name of George Foster; James Caton, of Swanville, shall be allowed to take the name of James Washington White; Charles Pennell Thorp, of Portland, son of Stillman Thorp, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles Lee Thorp; Hosea Northey, of Whitefield, shall be allowed to take the name of Hiram H. Northey; Paul S. Williams of Wells, shall be allowed to take the name of George S. Williams; Hannah Butler, of Hallowell, shall be allowed to take the name of Hannah Hovey; Francis W. Swan, of Farmington, shall be allowed to take the name of Francis Wilson Butler; Weston Dana Cobb, of Paris, shall be allowed to take the name of James Weston Dana; Eliza Ann Mace, of Hallowell, shall be allowed to take the name of Eliza Ann Wyman; Benjamin Loud, of Plymouth, shall be allowed to take the name of Benjamin Franklin Loud; Hannah Sterling, of Union, shall be allowed to take the name of Hannah Sterling Gardner; Jacob Brooks, junior, of Plymouth, shall be allowed to take the name of Jacob Franklin Brooks; Daniel Flood, of Portland, shall be allowed to take the name of Daniel Floyd; William H. Nutt, of Perry, shall be allowed to take

CHAP. 71. the name of William H. Williams; William Goodwin, of Buxton, shall be allowed to take the name of William Frederick Goodwin; Patrick Clark, of Columbia, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles P. Clark; Pilsbury S. Fritz, of Steuben, shall be allowed to take the name of Pilsbury Haskell; Joseph Leach and Lavina Leach, of Raymond, children of Henry Leach, shall be allowed to take the name of Joseph W. Leach and Lavina G. Leach: Charles Edward Day, of Portland, son of Josiah F. Day, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles EdwardBurdett Day; Lewis S. Kirkpatrick, Mary A. Kirkpatrick, Edwin D. Kirkpatrick, Samuel B. Kirkpatrick, Parker C. Kirkpatrick, Frances A. Kirkpatrick, Martha B. Kirkpatrick, Caroline D. Kirkpatrick and Charles E. Kirkpatrick, all of Warren, shall be allowed to take the name of Kirk as their surname; William S. Emery, of Waterville, shall be allowed to take the name of William S. Elwin; Calvin Hastings, of Union, shall be allowed to take the name of Calvin Hemenway; Ebenezer Only, of Jackson, shall be allowed to take the name of Charles Jackson. And said persons from and after the passage of this act shall be known and called by the names which they are respectively allowed to take as aforesaid; and the same shall hereafter be considered as their only true and proper names.

[Approved July 28, 1847.]

Chapter 71.

An act to incorporate the Moose Head Lake Railway Company.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Corporators.

C. W. Gower, Josiah Hinkley, Samuel P. Strickland, Hastings Strickland, Aaron Babb, Arvida Hayford, Jonathan A. Cushing, George W. King, Abner Coburn and Philander Coburn, their associates, successors and assigns, are hereby made a body politic and corporate by the name of the Moose Head Lake Railway Company, with all the powers, rights and privileges of similar corporations.

Corporate name.

Powers, privi-leges, &c.

Authorized to construct a railwav.

Location.

Authorized to take land and property.

Said corporation is hereby authorized to locate, con-Sect. 2. struct and maintain a railway with materials of wood or otherwise, with one or more tracks, from the head of Moose Head lake to the west branch of the Penobscot river; and also a railway with one or more sets of tracks from Umbazookskus lake to Mud pond. And said corporation are further authorized to enter upon and take such