MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

TWENTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE

ог тив

STATE OF MAINE,

4. D. 1944.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842,

AUGUSTA:

WM R. SMITH & Co., PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1844.

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

FOR THE

POLITICAL YEAR 1844.

HUGH J. ANDERSON,

COUNCIL.

BARNABAS PALMER, THEODORE INGALLS, CLEOPAS BOYD, JAMES C. WHITMORE, SAMUEL PALMER, GEORGE W. TOWLE, JOSEPH A. LINSCOTT.

OLIVER R. MERRILL,

Messenger to the Governor and Council.

PHILIP C. JOHNSON, Secretary of State. JAMES WHITE, Treasurer. ALFRED REDINGTON, Adjutant General. LEVI BRADLEY, Land Agent.

BELATE.

JOHN W. DANA, President. HARRISON LOWELL. 1st Senatorial District, SOLOMON BROOKS, ISAAC DEERING. 2d Senatorial District, CHARLES HUNT, CHARLES MILLETT, JOSEPH BROWN, MOODY F. WALKER. 3d Senatorial District. JOHN ANDERSON, HENRY TALLMAN. EZRA B. FRENCH. EBENEZER OTIS. 4th Senatorial District, EDWARD SWAN, ASA SMILEY, EZEKIEL HOLMES. 5th Senatorial District, HENRY W. CUNNINGHAM, GEORGE KNOWLTON, CORYDON CHADWICK. 6th Senatorial District, RICHARD WARREN. 7th Senatorial District, GEORGE PARCHER. 8th Senatorial District, SULLIVAN S. RAWSON. 9th Senatorial District, MANLY B. TOWNSEND. 10th Senatorial District, ARCHELAUS D. ATWOOD, WILLIAM R. MILLER, HIRAM ROSE. 11th Senatorial District, MORDECAI MITCHELL, 12th Senatorial District, CULLEN SAWTELLE, HARRIS GARCELON. 13th Senatorial District, VARNUM CRAM. 14th Senatorial District, JOHN W. DANA, LEE STRICKLAND.

*JERE HASKELL, Secretary.

JAMES O. L. FOSTER, Assistant Secretary.

REV. JOHN H. INGRAHAM, Chaplain.

EBENEZER S. PATTEN, Messenger.

CARVER P. NESMITH, Assistant Messenger.

WILLIAM FRYE.

House of Representatives.

DAVID DUNN, Speaker. COUNTY OF YORK.

Acton,
Alfred,
Berwick,
Biddeford,
Buxton,
Cornish,
Eliot,
Hollis,
Kittery,
Kennebunk-port,
Lyman,

Parsonsfield,
Saco,

Sanford, Wells, York,

Horace Bodwell.
William C. Allen.
Samuel W. Fox.
Tristram Goldthwait.
Charles Watts.
Hiram Remick.

Hiram Remick.
James Goodwin.
Miles W. Stuart.
Jeremiah S. Remick,
Charles Bradbury,
Isaac C. Emmons.
John Mudget.
Gideon Tucker.
Stephen Dorman.
Samuel Mildram.
Josiah Chase.

COUNTY OF CUMBERLAND.

Brunswick,
Cape Elizabeth,

Danville,
Falmouth,
Freeport,
Gorham,
Harrison,

Harpswell,
Minot,

North Yarmouth,

Poland,

Portland,

Pownal, Raymond, Sebago, Westbrook, Windham, Benjamin H. Meder.

Randall Skillin.

Nathaniel L. Ingersoll.

Daniel Merrill.
Richard Merrill.
Daniel C. Emery.
Hosea H. Huntress.

John Blake,

Jabez C. Woodman. William Buxton.

David Dunn.

Josiah S. Little, Thomas Chadwick, Phinehas Barnes.

Daniel Paine.

James M. Leach. David Potter.

Jeremiah Beedle. Edward Anderson.

COUNTY OF LINCOLN.

Alna, Bath,

Boothbay,
Bowdoinham,
Bowdoin.

Bremen,
Bristol,
Cushing,
Dresden,
Edgecomb,

Friendship, Lisbon, Phipsburg,

Thomaston,

Washington,
Waldoborough,

Whitefield, Woolwich,

Paul Pearson.

Jonathan S. Donnell.

Charles Reed.
John Patten.
John Carr.

John Gentliner, jr.
Arnold Blaney.
Thomas Gore.
Robert Perkins.
Rosewell Wilson.
William Jameson, jr.
Horace Corbett.
John F. Mereen.

{ Isaac Ames, Joseph Berry.

William McDowell.
Charles Miller.
Abiel Palmer.
John Perkins.

COUNTY OF HANCOCK.

Brooksville,
Bucksport,
Dedham,
Deer Isle,
Eden,
Franklin,

Penobscot,
Surry,
Trenton.

Benjamin Rea. Rufus Buck. Frederick Frye. Avery Fifield.

Leonard J. Thomas.
Samuel Scammons.
Charles Hutchings.
Charles Jarvis.
John King.

COUNTY OF WASHINGTON.

Calais,
Charlotte,
Columbia,
Cooper,
Dennysville,
Eastport,
Lubec,
Steuben,

Robert C. Stickney.
John McGlauflin.
George W. Ruggles.
Ambrose Huff.
Benjamin Kilby.
Samuel Bucknam.
Solomon Thayer.
Henry D. Leighton.

COUNTY OF KENNEBEC.

Albion. Scotland Chalmers. Augusta, Richard F. Perkins. China, Charles A. Russ. Gardiner, Mason Damon. Hallowell, Henry K. Baker. Litchfield, William O. Grant. Monmouth, Joseph Loomis. Mount Vernon, Daniel Thing. Pittston, William Troop. Readfield, Dudley Hains. Rome, Eben Tracy. Orrin Brown. Sebasticook, Vassalborough, John Mower. Waterville, William Dorr. Wayne,William Lewis. Winslow, William Getchell.

COUNTY OF OXFORD.

Brownfield, Ichabod Warren. Greenwood, William Noyes. Hebron, Elias Taylor. Livermore, Samuel B. Morrison. Jonathan Swift. Norway, Hiram Hubbard. Paris, Peru, Orville Knight. Rumford, David Knapp. Sumner, Alexander Ryerson. Waterford, Josiah Monroe.

COUNTY OF SOMERSET.

Columbus Steward. Anson, Abner Coburn. Bloomfield, John Jones. Brighton, Joseph Lord. Detroit, Lexington, George W. Clark. Anson P. Morrill. Madison, Robert Hunter. Pittsfield, Morrill Prescott. Ripley, Elisha Cooledge. Solon,

COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT.

Bangor, \{\begin{align*} \text{William Paine,} \\ \text{George W Holden.} \end{align*}

COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT, (Continued.)

Bradford, Spencer Arnold.
Bradley, Horace Blackman.
Brewer, Benjamin Farrington.
Dexter, Bartholomew Jenkins.

Garland, Lyndon Oak.
Greenbush, Henry Campbell.
Hampden, Elkanah Knowles.
Hermon, Samuel B. Brown,
Lincoln, Reuben E. Carpenter.

Plymouth, Joshua Loud. Stetson, Isaac Bicknell.

COUNTY OF WALDO.

Joseph Bean, 2d. Belfast, Brooks, Sylvanus Eaton. Joseph Stetson. Camden, Frankfort, Thomas Elliot. Abner Dunton, jr., Hope, Jackson, Mark S. Stiles. Knox, Josiah Chandler. John C. Knowlton. Liberty, Ebenezer Knowlton. Montville, Northport, John F. Holbrook. Henry Hitchborn. Prospect, Emery Nickerson. Swanville, Vinalhaven, William Thomas.

COUNTY OF PISCATAQUIS.

Atkinson,Daniel C. Cilley.Greenville,Charles W. Gower.Sebec,Caleb C. Wingate.Wellington,Ward C. Weeks.

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN.

Avon,James Thompson,Chesterville,Cyrus Pierce.Freeman,Marshall Niles,Jay,Newton Linscott.New Vineyard,Orrin Daggett.

COUNTY OF AROOSTOOK.

Monticello,Joel Wellington.Moluncus,John Rollins.Letter F,Moses Rose.

WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, Clerk.

JOHN B. TRAFTON, in place of JASSISSANT Clerk.

JAMES C. MADIGAN, resigned.

PHILIP PHILLIPS, Messenger.

JOSHUA PICKARD, 1st Assistant Messenger.

SMITH LIBBY, 2d do. do.

DANIEL C. BAILEY, Page.

The Clergymen of Augusta and Hallowell officiate as Chaplains in rotation.

Note. The legislature of Maine convened on the third day of January, and adjourned on the twenty second day of March, A. D. 1844.