# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

## TWENTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE,

A. D. 1343.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

AUGUSTA:

WM, R. SMITH & Co., PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1843.

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE,

FOR THE

POLITICAL YEAR 1843.

## \*JOHN FAIRFIELD, GOVERNOR.

#### COUNCIL.

BARNABAS PALMER, GREENLIEF WHITE, DOMINICUS JORDAN, DENNIS L. MILLIKIN, ATWOOD LEVENSALER, CYRUS MOORE. MOSES MASON,

WILLIAM M. LONGLEY, Messenger to the Governor Council.

PHILIP C. JOHNSON, Secretary of State, JAMES WHITE, Treasurer. ALFRED REDINGTON, Adjutant General. LEVI BRADLEY, Land Agent.

<sup>\*</sup> On the resignation of Governor Fairfield, March 7, 1843, the executive duties devolved upon Hon. Edward Kavanagh, president of the senate.

#### O TO A TO THE

\*EDWARD KAVANAGH, President.

1st Senatorial District, ELISHA BODWELL,
SOLOMON BROOKS,
HARRISON LOWELL.

2d Senatorial District, THEODORE INGALLS, CHARLES MILLET,

CHARLES HUNT, JAMES STROUT.

3d Senatorial District, EDWARD KAVANAGH,

JOSHUA PATTERSON, WILLIAM R. FRYE, JOHN ANDERSON.

4th Senatorial District, JACOB MAIN, JOHN HUBBARD,

DAVID STANLEY.

5th Senatorial District, EPHRAIM K. SMART,

JOSHUA F. ELLIOT,

HENRY W. CUNNINGHAM.

6th Senatorial District, ROWLAND H. BRIDGHAM.

7th Senatorial District, BENJAMIN D. EASTMAN.

8th Senatorial District, BENJAMIN B. LEAVITT.

9th Senatorial District, SHEPARD CARY.

10th Senatorial District, AMASA STETSON.
THOMAS C. BURLEIGH,

ARCHELAUS D. ATWOOD.

11th Senatorial District, MORDECAI MITCHELL.

12th Senatorial District, CULLEN SAWTELLE, HARRIS GARCELON.

13th Senatorial District, DANIEL MERRITT.

14th Senatorial District, \*VIRGIL D. PARRIS,
JOHN W. DANA,
LEE STRICKLAND.

JERE HASKELL, Secretary.

JAMES O. L. FOSTER, Assistant Secretary.

WILLARD BRACKETT, Messenger.

JOHN McLAUGHLIN, Assistant Messenger.

REV. JOHN H. INGRAHAM, Chaplain.

<sup>\*</sup> On the elevation of Hon. Edward Kavanagh to the executive chair, Hon. V. D. Parris was elected president of the senate.

## House of Representatives.

#### DAVID DUNN, Speaker.

#### COUNTY OF YORK.

Samuel Merrill.

Charles Watts.

Abel M. Bryant.

Charles Bradbury.

Charles G. Bellamy.

Frederick A. Wood.

James McLellan, jr.

Humphrey Fall.

Arthur Milliken.

Ivory Bragdon.

Jedediah Goodwin.

Nathaniel Emery.

Samuel Mildram.

John Mudgett.

Biddeford,
Buxton,
Kennebunk,
Kennebunk-port,
Kittery,
Lebanon,
Newfield,
North Berwick,
Parsonsfield,
Saco,
Shanleigh.

Parsonsfield, Saco, Shapleigh, South Berwick, Waterborough, Wells,

York.

Theodore Wilson.
COUNTY OF CUMBERLAND.

Auburn,
Baldwin,
Brunswick,
Casco,
Durham,
Falmouth,
Freeport,
Gorham,

New Gloucester, North Yarmouth,

Poland,

Gray,

Portland,

Scarborough, Standish, Westbrook, Windham, CUMBERLAND.
James Goff, jr.
Joshua Chadbourne.
Benjamin H. Meder.
Alpheus S. Holden.
Simeon Bailey.
Daniel Merrill.
Alfred Soule.
Daniel C. Emery.
Theophilus Stimson.
Joseph Raynes.
Jeremiah Mitchell.
David Dunn.
Josiah S. Little,
Thomas Chadwick,

( Henry B. Hart. Stephen L. Waterhouse. Daniel C. Poole.

Daniel C. Poole. Henry C. Babb. Ezra Brown, jr.

#### COUNTY OF LINCOLN.

Bath,

Freeman H. Morse.

#### COUNTY OF LINCOLN, (Continued.)

Boothbay, William Carlisle.
Bristol, Thomas C. Greenlow.
Georgetown, Thomas Mars.
Jefferson, Randel Jones.
Lewiston, Gideon Perkins.

Lewiston,Gideon Perkins.Newcastle,Algernon S. Austin.Nobleborough,Hiram Chapman.Richmond,Hezekiah Purinton.St. George,Ebenezer Otis.

Thomaston,

Topsham,

Beder Fales,
Isaac Ames.

Aaron Hinkley.

Union, Phillips C. Harding.
Waldoborough. Isaac Reed.

Waldoborough, Isaac Reed.

Warren, Amos H. Hodgman.

Webster, Philip M. Garcelon.

Whitefield, Thomas White.

Wiscasset, Joshua Young.

#### COUNTY OF HANCOCK.

Bluehill. Byron W. Darling. Bucksport, John Lee. Castine, John Bridges. Cranberry Isle, Thomas Bunker. Deer Isle, Asa Turner. Ellsworth, Calvin Peck. Orland, Henry Partridge. Joseph Herrick, 2d. Sedgwick,

Sullivan,

#### COUNTY OF WASHINGTON.

Amos B. Simpson.

Addison, David Davis. Calais, Ebenezer Watson. Eastport, Jabez T. Pike. East Machias, Gowen Wilson. James W. Lyman. Lubec. Machias, William Brown. Warren Gilman. Medybemps, Princeton, Putnam Rolf.

#### COUNTY OF KENNEBEC.

Augusta, Luther Severance.

#### COUNTY OF KENNEBEC, (Continued.)

Belgrade, Reuben H. Yeaton. Charles A. Russ. China. Clinton, Joseph P. Brown. Israel Chase. Fayette, Gardiner, Philip C. Holmes. George W. Perkins, jr. Hallowell, Litchfield, William O. Grant. Pittston. George Williamson. Sidney. George Fields. Vassalborough, Isaac Fairfield. Waterville, \* William Dorr. Windsor. Henry Perkins. Samuel Wood, ir. Winthrop,

#### COUNTY OF OXFORD.

William Frve. Bethel. Buckfield, Noah Prince. Denmark, Samuel Gibson. Hartford, Richard Hutchinson. Livermore, Isaac S. Daly. Lovell, John Walker, jr. Elijah Powers. Newry, Oxford, John J. Perry. Hiram Hubbard. Paris, Porter, John Higgins. Rumford, Amos Dwinel. William B. Brav. Turner,

#### COUNTY OF SOMERSET.

Anson, James Bailey. David Richardson. Canaan, Joshua Fogg. Cornville. Thomas Pray. Detroit, Embden, Nathaniel W. Gould. Fairfield, Sturges Nye. Harmony, Cleopas Boyd. Wadsworth Bolter. Moscow. Norridgewock, Edward Rowe.

#### COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT.

Bangor, Scyrus Goss, William Paine.

<sup>\*</sup> Elected after the close of the session of the legislature.

#### COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT, (Continued.)

Charleston, Elisha M. Thurston.

Corinna, John Lord. Exeter, Smith Libby.

Hampden, Theophilus Stanley.
Levant, William F. Leavitt.

Mattawamkeag, Asa Smith.

Newburg, Benjamin B. Thomas.
Newport, Edmund Pillsbury.
Old Town, Ira Wadleigh.
Orono, Isaac Sanborn.
Orrington, Joseph Baker, jr.
Passadumkeag, Tristram F. Jordan.

#### COUNTY OF WALDO.

Belfast, Nehemiah Abbot. James H. Haines. Burnham, Camden, Jesse Page. Thomas Elliot. Frankfort, Lincolnville. Nathan Knight. Monroe, John Clements. Montville, Asa C. Emery. Palermo, Nathan Worthing. Henry Hitchborn. Prospect, Joseph Muzzy. Searsmont, Vinalhaven, James Crockett, jr. Waldo, Henry Davidson.

#### COUNTY OF FRANKLIN.

Carthage, Abner C. Holman.
Farmington, John Jewett.
Strong, Adam Clark.
Wilton, Charles Morse.

#### COUNTY OF PISCATAQUIS.

Dover,Leonard Stoddard.Milo,Thomas B. Spaulding.Monson,Abner Brown.Parkman,Samuel Coburn.

#### COUNTY OF AROOSTOOK.

Houlton, Leonard Pierce.

Moluncus, John Rollins.

Presque Isle, Dennis Fairbanks.

WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, Clerk.

JAMES C. MADIGAN, Assistant Clerk.
GEORGE B. STARBIRD, Messenger.
PHILIP PHILLIPS, 1st Assistant Messenger.
JOSHUA PICKARD, 2d do. do.
DANIEL C. BAILEY, Page.
REV. CALEB FULLER, Chaplain.

Note. The legislature of Maine convened on the fourth day of January, and adjourned on the twenty fourth day of March, A. D. 1843.