

ACTS AND RESOLVES

4628

PASSED BY THE

TWENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

A.D. 1842.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

AUGUSTA:

WM. R. SMITH & Co., PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1842.

RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

LEGISLATURE OF MAINE,

1842.

Chapter 68.

Resolve to correct an error in the valuation of Monhegan Isle, and for correcting the state and county tax thereon.

Resolved, That so much of a resolve, passed on the thirteenth Valuation of day of April, in the year of our Lord, eighteen hundred and forty corrected. one, as relates to the valuation of Monhegan Isle, in the county of Lincoln, and to the aggregate valuation of said county be repealed, and that the valuation of said Monhegan Isle be ten thousand and ninety five dollars; and that the aggregate valuation of said county be nine million, eight hundred, one thousand, seven hundred and seventy nine dollars; and that the treasurer of the state and the treasurer of the county of Lincoln be hereby directed to abate or refund, as the case may require, to the inhabitants of said Monhegan Isle, such portion of the state and county tax respectively, which may have been assessed, as the above correction in the valuation of said Monhegan Isle may require.

[Approved March 17, 1842.]

Chapter 69.

Resolve for apportioning one hundred and fifty one representatives among the several counties, towns, plantations and classes in the state of Maine at the fourth apportionment.

Resolved, That the county of York shall choose sixteen representatives, to be apportioned as follows: Saco, one; York, one; members. Wells, one; Kennebunkport, one; Biddeford, one; Buxton, one; Kittery, one; Parsonsfield, one; South Berwick and Elliot, one; Sanford and Lebanon, one; Waterborough and Lyman, one; Alfred and Kennebunk, one; Limington and Hollis, one; Berwick and North Berwick, one; Shapleigh and Acton, one; Cornish, Limerick and Newfield, one.

That the county of Cumberland shall choose twenty representa- Cumberland tives, to be apportioned as follows : City of Portland, three ; Westbrook, one; Brunswick, one; Gorham, one; North Yarmouth, one; Freeport, one; Poland, one; Standish, one; Windham, one; Baldwin, Sebago and Naples, one; Casco, Raymond and Otisfield, one; Durham and Pownal, one; Gray and Harpswell, one; Scarborough one for the years eighteen hundred and forty three, eighteen hundred and forty five, eighteen hundred and forty seven, eighteen hundred and forty nine and eighteen hundred and fifty one; Cape Elizabeth, one for the years eighteen hundred and forty four, eighteen hundred and forty six, eighteen hundred and forty eight, and eighteen hundred and fifty; Auburn one for the years

sentatives to consist of 151 York county, 16

connty, 20 mem-

55

Monhegan Isle