

ACTS AND RESOLVES

4628

PASSED BY THE

TWENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

A.D. 1842.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

AUGUSTA:

WM. R. SMITH & Co., PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1842.

PUBLIC LAWS

of the

STATE OF MAINE,

Extra Session, 1842.

40

.g.*

Снар. 40.

REPRESENTATIVES TO CONGRESS.

Chapter 40.

AN ACT additional to an act providing for the choice of representatives to congress, approved March 17, 1842.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

SECT. 1. If congress fix upon such a ratio of representation under the sixth census as will entitle this state to nine representatives to congress, they shall be elected by districts, as follows:—

The county of York shall compose the first district and be entitled to one representative.

The county of Cumberland with the exception of Durham, Brunswick, Harpswell, Danville, Minot and Auburn, shall compose the second district, and be entitled to one representative.

The county of Kennebec with the exception of Albion, Winslow, China, Vassalborough, Windsor, Clinton, Clinton gore, Dearborn, Waterville, and territory north of Albion, together with the following towns from the county of Cumberland, to wit: Durham, Brunswick, Harpswell, Danville, Minot and Auburn, and the following towns from the county of Lincoln, to wit: Lewiston, Lisbon, Webster and Bowdoin, shall compose the third district and be entitled to one representative.

Fourth district. The remainder of the county of Lincoln, shall compose the fourth district and be entitled to one representative.

Fifth district. The counties of Oxford and Franklin shall compose the fifth district and be entitled to one representative.

sixth district. The counties of Somerset and Piscataquis together with Clinton, Waterville, Dearborn, Clinton gore, and the territory north of Albion, shall compose the sixth district and be entitled to one representative.

seventh district. The county of Waldo together with Albion, Winslow, China, Vassalborough and Windsor, shall compose the seventh district and be entitled to one representative.

Eighth district. The counties of Penobscot and Aroostook shall compose the eighth district and be entitled to one representative.

Ninth district. The counties of Hancock and Washington shall compose the ninth district and be entitled to one representative.

SECT. 2. If congress fix upon such a ratio as will entitle this state to ten representatives to congress, they shall be elected by districts, as follows:---

First district. York county shall compose one district and be entitled to one representative.

second district. Cumberland county, with the exception of Minot, Auburn, Danville, Pownal, Durham, Harpswell, Brunswick, Freeport, North

Districts for choice of representatives to congress.

First district.

Second district.

Third district,

Yarmouth, and New Gloucester, together with the following towns <u>CHAP. 40.</u> from the county of Oxford, to wit: Porter, Hiram, Brownfield and Denmark, shall compose the second district and be entitled to one representative.

The remainder of the county of Oxford and the county of Frank- Third district. lin shall compose the third district, and be entitled to one representative.

The several towns in the county of Cumberland not included in Fourth district. the second district, together with all that part of Lincoln county which lies west of Kennebec river, except the town of Phipsburg, together with the towns of Greene, Wales, Litchfield and Leeds, in the county of Kennebec, shall compose the fourth district, and be entitled to one representative.

The remaining part of Lincoln county shall compose the fifth Fifth district. district and be entitled to one representative.

The remaining part of the county of Kennebec shall compose sixth district. the sixth district and be entitled to one representative.

The county of Waldo, together with the town of Bucksport, shall Seventh district. compose the seventh district and be entitled to one representative.

The counties of Somerset and Piscataquis shall compose the Eighth district. eighth district, and be entitled to one representative.

The counties of Penobscot and Aroostook shall compose the Ninth district. ninth district, and be entitled to one representative.

The counties of Washington and Hancock, except the town of Tenth district. Bucksport, shall compose the tenth district and be entitled to one representative.

[Approved May 30, 1842.]