MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES,

PASSED BY THE

TWENTIETH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

JANUARY SESSION, 1840.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, and February 26, 1840.

 $\mathcal{A}\,U\,G\,U\,S\,T\,\mathcal{A}$:

WM. R. SMITH & Co., PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1840.

PUBLIC AND PRIVATE LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE.

1840.

[supplied from page 1 of volume]

Chapter 24.

AN ACT to limit the tenure of Military Office.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, That all military officers, who have been or hereafter may Commissions to be commissioned, shall hold their respective offices for a term not longer than seven years from the date of their commission, unless reappointed or reelected. Provided, that in case of vacancy of Major General in any Division, the commissions of the Brigadier Generals in such Division shall not terminate by the limitation aforesaid until the office of Major General shall be filled by the Legislature—and the Commander-in-Chief is hereby authorized to discharge officers who have held or may hereafter hold commissions seven years as aforesaid. And this Act shall take effect from and after its approval by the Governor.

Commander-in-Chief todischarge officers who have held commis-

sions seven years.

run not exceed-

ing seven years.

[Approved February 24, 1840.]

Chapter 25.

AN ACT to incorporate the Eliot Academy.

Corporators.

Sec. 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, That William Fogg, Samuel Dixon, Joseph Fogg, Samuel Hanscom jun., Josiah P. Hanscom, Elisha Bacon, John P. Rogers, James Shapleigh juu., James W. Shapleigh, James S. Tobey, Alexander Shapleigh, Elias Remich, William Hammond, James K. Paul, Nathaniel Paul, Oliver Libbey, and Alpheus Hanscom and their associates and successors be, and hereby are, constituted a body politic and corporate forever, by the name of Corporate name, the proprietors of Eliot Academy; and by that