# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### PRIVATE AND SPECIAL

## ACTS

OF THE

## STATE OF MAINE,

PASSED BY THE

### THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE,

AT ITS SESSION COMMENCING JANUARY 2, 1833.

PUBLISHED AGREEABLY TO THE RESOLVE OF JUNE 28, 1820.

AUGUSTA:

I. BERRY & CO. PRINTERS TO THE STATE.

1833.

#### CHAPTER 378.

AN ACT to change the names of certain persons.

Approved March 4, 1833.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives, in Legislature assembled, That Nicholas Esty Doe of Augusta, be allowed to take the name of Esty Nicholas Doe; that Persons whose Jott S. Paine of Portland be allowed to take the name of changed. John Stone Paine: that John Smith of Freedom be allowed to take the name of John Warren Smith; that Samuel Nason of Hollis be allowed to take the name of Samuel S. Nason; that John Goodale Woodcock of Ripley be allowed to take the name of John Goodale; that John Maginnis of Portland be allowed to take the name of John S. Maginnis; that George Allen of Augusta be allowed to take the name of George Washington Allen; that Elizabeth Leigh of Atkinson be allowed to take the name of Elizabeth Lowell; that Aaron Bunker Crane of Cranberry Isles be allowed to take the name of Aaron Gould; that Robert Higgins, Junior of Standish be allowed to take the name [of] Robert Granville Higgins; that Abner P. Rollins of Wiscasset be allowed to take the name of Abner Plummer; that Bartlett Weeks of Wayne be allowed to take the name of Bartlett Weeks Varnum; that Stillman Drake of Bangor be allowed to take the name of Samuel Stillman Drake; that John Alphonso Loring Whitman of Bangor be allowed to take the name of Alphonso Loring Whitman; that Daniel Perkins 3d of Kennebunk Port be allowed to take the name of Daniel S. Perkins; that John Wagg of Belfast, and his wife Nancy with their children, Cordelia Sawyer, Hannah, Susan Ann, Mary Elanor, Harriet Frances, William Henry, Augustus Albert, and Horace Seaver, and also James Wagg of Hallowell and his wife Hannah with their children, Nancy, Sophronia, Porter, Hannah, James, Lovisey, William and Susannah, be, each and all of them, allowed to lay aside and discontinue their aforesaid surname of Wagg and take and use in the room there-

of the surname of Holland; that Peter Knight Critchett of Bath be allowed to take the name of Peter Knight. said persons shall in future be respectively known and called by the names which they are by this Act allowed to take as aforesaid; and the same shall be considered as their only proper names.

#### CHAPTER 379.

AN ACT to incorporate the Skowhegan Bank.

Approved March 4, 1833.

Names of persons incorporated.

Company to 1847.

continue until Proviso.

Capital Stock to consist of \$50,000-To be divided into shares of \$100 each.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives, in Legislature assembled, That Isaac Farrar, John G. Neal, Edmund Pearson, Stephen Weston, Joseph Locke, Ebenezer H. Neal, Samuel Loomis, Samuel Weston, Abraham Wyman, Judah M'Clellan, Brooks Dascomb, Andrew Morse, John S. Tenney, James Dinsmore, David H. Raymond, David Rowell, William Allen, Jr., Samuel Philbrick, Joseph Patten, Bryce McLellan, Samuel Farrar, Samuel Soule, John Ware, Isaiah Doore, and Warren Preston, with their associates, successors and assigns, be and they hereby are, incorporated into a Company by the name of the President, Directors and Company of the Skowhegan Bank, and shall so continue until the first day of October in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty seven. Provided, that the persons above named, or such of them as shall be living at the time said Corporation shall go into operation, shall become Stockholders therein, to an amount not less than Twenty Five Thousand Dollars.

Sect. 2. Be it further enacted, That the Capital Stock of said Bank shall consist of Fifty Thousand Dollars, divided into shares of One Hundred Dollars each; and said Bank shall be established on Skowhegan Island in the town of Bloomfield, and seven persons shall constitute a Board of Directors.