MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

RESOLVES

OF THE

LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

PASSED AT ITS SESSION,

WHICH COMMENCED ON THE TENTH DAY OF JANUARY, AND ENDED ON THE TWENTY-SECOND DAY OF MARCH, ONE THOUSAND EIGHT HUNDRED AND TWENTY-ONE.

Published agreeably to a Resolution of June 28, 1820.

PORTLAND:

PRINTED BY THOMAS TODD & CO. PRINTERS TO THE STATE.
1821.

CHAPTER LXXVI.

Resolve appointing a Committee to examine certain accounts, and to report the same to the Governor and Council. March 22, 1821.

Resolved. That Messrs. Bixby, of Cornville, Irish, of Gorham, and Vose, of Augusta, be a committee to examine the several accounts of sheriffs and coroners, the miscellaneous accounts, and the pauper accounts, as reported by the joint standing committee on accounts, and allowed by this Legislature, with leave to report on the same to the Governor and Council; and the Governor is hereby authorized to draw his warrant on the Treasurer of this State, for the payment of such part of said accounts only, as said Committee shall report to be justly due and ought now to be paid; and the remainder of such accounts shall be referred to the first session of the next Legislature for their consideration: Provided, That said committee shall not be allowed to hold their session longer than five days next after the adjournment of this Legislature.

CHAPTER LXXVII.

Resolve apportioning the Representatives on the several Counties, Towns, Plantations and Classes, on the first apportionment. March 22, 1821.

Resolved, That the county of York shall choose twenty three Representatives, apportioned in the following manner: viz. The town of York, one; Kittery, one; Elliot, one; South Berwick, one; Berwick, one; Saco, one; Hollis, one; Biddeford, one; Kennebunk Port, one; Kennebunk, one; Wells, one; Limington, one; Buxton, one; Lyman, one; Sanford, one; Alfred, one; Shapleigh, one; Limerick, one; Parsonsfield, one; Waterborough, one; Newfield, one; Cornish, one; Lebanon, one:-County of Cumberland shall choose twenty five Representatives: viz. Portland, three; Brunswick, one; Durhain, one; Freeport, one; North Yarmouth, one; Cumberland, one; Falmouth, one; Scarborough, one; Westbrook, one; Standish, one; Gorham, one; Windham, one; New-Gloucester, one; Minot, one; Harpswell, one; Poland, one; Gray, one; Raymond and Thompson Pond [Plantation] one; Bridgton, one; Baldwin, one; Cape-Elizabeth, one; Otisfield and Harrison, one; Danville and Pownal, one, to send alternately, Danville first:-The County of Lincoln shall have twenty six Representatives : viz. The town of Bath, one; Bowdoin, one; Bowdoinham, one; Litchfield, one; Lisbon, one; Wiscasset, one; Edgcomb, one; Jefferson, one; Nobleborough, one; Boothbay, one; Warren, one; Thomaston, one; Camden, one; Waldoborough, one; Bristol, one; Topsham, one; Whitefield, one; Lewiston, one, for the years 1822, 1824 and 1826; and Wales, one, for 1823 and 1825; Georgetown, one, for 1822, 1824, and 1826; and