

STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 99th LEGISLATURE

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 994, L.D. 1403, Bill, "An Act to Authorize the Municipalities of Cornish, Limerick, Newfield and Parsonsfield to Form a School Administrative District."

Amend said Bill in the title by adding after the word "District" the following: 'and to Authorize the Municipalities of Enfield, Greenbush, Howland, LaGrange, Maxfield, Passadumkeag and Seboeis Plantation to Form a School Administrative District'

Further amend said Bill in the emergency preamble by inserting before the last paragraph the following:

'Whereas, the Maine School District Commission recommends that the municipalities of Enfield, Greenbush, Howland, LaGrange, Maxfield, Passadumkeag and Seboeis Plantation be authorized to establish a School Administrative District; and!

Further amend said Bill by inserting at the beginning of the first line after the enacting clause the abbreviation and figure 'Sec. 1.'

Further amend said Bill by inserting before the emergency clause the following paragraphs:

'Sec. 2. School Administrative District for Enfield, Greenbush, Howland, LaGrange, Maxfield, Passadumkear and Seboeis Plantation, authorized. The municipalities of Enfield, Greenbush, Howland, LaGrange Maxfield, Passadumkear and Seboeis Plantation are exempted from the limitations provided in the Revised Statutes of 1954, chapter 41 section 111-E, as amended, and the Maine School District Commission is authorized to proceed pursuant to said chapter 41, sections 111-F to 111-U, to take the necessary action to allow the municipalities of Fofield, Greenbush, Howland, LaGrange, Maxfield, Passadumkear and Seboeis Plantation to form a School Administrative District.

Nothing contained herein shall be construed to limit the number of times that the above-named municipalities may make application to the ^Maine School District ^Commission, nor shall the authority heretofore granted to the ^Maine School District ^Commission under this act be limited to any specified number of times for the commission to authorize the above-named municipalities to act on the formation of a School Administrative District.'

Reported by the Committee on Education Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.