MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

NINETY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1244

H. P. 1673

House of Representatives, March 28, 1951.

On motion of Mr. Hayes of Dover-Foxcroft tabled pending consideration. Specially assigned for Tuesday, April 3 and ordered printed.

HARVEY R. PEASE, Clerk.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED FIFTY-ONE

FIRST SPECIAL REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON APPORTIONMENT

In accordance with Senate Order No. 40, the Apportionment Committee presents this First Special Report to the 95th Legislature.

- 1. Resolves related to apportionment of Councillor Districts, Senatorial Districts and Congressional Districts, each resolve providing for a continuation of existing apportionments, have been reported to the Legislature and are now in possession of the Senate and House for legislative consideration.
- 2. With respect to House apportionment, the Committee agrees that the first step is a legislative determination of the allocation of 151 Representatives among the several counties. This determination should be made as promptly as may be in order that the apportionment changes, if any, within the several counties, may be done expeditiously and intelligently.
- 3. The Committee is not unanimous with respect to the question of allocations of Representatives among the counties, and the following members, by their signatures attached hereto, recommend the adoption of PLAN A, which would provide the following allocations:

PLAN A

County	No.	County	No.
Androscoggin	13	Oxford	8
Aroostook	16	Penobscot	17
Cumberland	24	Piscataquis	4
Franklin	4	Sagadahoc	4
Hancock	6	Somerset	7
Kennebec	13	Waldo	4
Knox	6	Washington	8
Lincoln	3	York	14
			151

This PLAN A is recommended by the following members of the Committee:

Cleveland Sleeper, Jr., Knox	R. Martin, Augusta	
Peter J. Christensen, Washington	Harding, Rockland	
L. E. Jacobs, Auburn	N. S. Chase, Whitefield	
Dwight W. Dorsey, Fort Fairfield	E. S. Dickey, Brooks	
L. T. Dunham, Ellsworth	L. H. Lackee, Addison	

PLAN B

County	No.	County	No.
Androscoggin	13	Oxford	8
Aroostook	15	Penobscot	17
Cumberland	27	Piscataquis	4
Franklin	4	Sagadahoc	4
Hancock	6	Somerset	7
Kennebec	13	Waldo	4
Knox	5	Washington	6
Lincoln	3	York	15

This PLAN B is recommended by the following members of the Committee:

T. W. Haskell, Penobscot
Fred W. Marshall, York
Ralph A. Leavitt, Cumberland
Clarence S. Crosby, Franklin
Ela, Somerset
Edward E. Chase, Cape Elizabeth
F. P. Caswell, New Sharon

Stewart, Paris
Alex J. Latno, Old Town
Harold M. Hayes, Dover-Foxcroft
Frank P. Bailey, Woolwich
Roy U. Sinclair, Pittsfield
Raymond H. Bradeen, Waterboro