

SEVENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE

HOUSE.

No. 201

STATE OF MAINE.

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD ONE THOUSAND NINE HUNDRED AND FIVE.

AN ACT to incorporate the Messalonskee Electric Company.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Section 1. Harvey D. Eaton, Walter S. Wyman, John N. 2 Webber, Edward L. Meader, William T. Haines, George 3 Fred Terry, Reuben W. Dunn of Waterville, William M. 4 Ayer of Oakland and Herbert M. Heath of Augusta, their 5 associates, successors and assigns, are hereby made a body 6 corporate by the name of the Messalonskee Electric Com-7 pany.

Sect. 2. The purpose of said corporation shall be to make, 2 generate, sell, distribute and supply electricity in the city of 3 Waterville, and the towns of Oakland, Fairfield, Benton and 4 Winslow in accordance with the general statutes relating to 5 that business.

HOUSE-No. 201.

Sect. 3. The capital stock of said corporation shall be two 2 hundred and fifty thousand dollars divided into shares of one 3 hundred dollars each, of such classes as the shareholders may 4 determine, and it may issue bonds for such amounts as may 5 be required and secure said bonds by mortgages upon the 6 property and franchises of the company.

Sect. 4. Said corporation is hereby authorized to acquire 2 plants, property, franchises, rights, privileges and locations 3 of other corporations or individuals engaged in the electric 4 business in the territory above mentioned, and such corpora-5 tions and individuals are hereby authorized to convey, trans-6 fer and assign such property, franchises, rights, privileges 7 and locations to the said Messalonskee Electric Company, 8 and after the acquisition of any such property by said 9 Messalonskee Electric Company it shall have, hold, enjoy 10 and exercise the same for its own uses and purposes as 11 though originally granted to it.

Sect. 5. This act shall take effect when approved.

• •

STATE OF MAINE.

.

House of Representatives, Augusta, February 22, 1905. Reported by Mr. JOHNSON from Committee on Judiciary and ordered printed under joint rules.

E. M. THOMPSON, Clerk.