

Seventieth Legislature.

SENATE.

No. 36

STATE OF MAINE.

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD ONE THOUSAND NINE HUNDRED AND ONE.

RESOLVE to apportion State Senators to the Legislature.

Resolved, That for the seventy-first legislature and the 2 succeeding legislatures to and including the year nineteen 3 hundred eleven, the state be, and hereby is divided into 4 sixteen districts for the choice of senators, and each dis-5 trict shall be entitled to elect the number of senators 6 herein provided, for the term of ten years, in the manner 7 prescribed by the constitution.

The county of York shall form the first district, and be 9 entitled to elect three senators.

The county of Cumberland shall form the second district, 11 and be entitled to elect four senators. The county of Oxford shall form the third district, and 13 be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Androscoggin shall form the fourth dis-15 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

The county of Franklin shall form the fifth district, and 17 be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Sagadahoc shall form the sixth district, 19 and be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Kennebec shall form the seventh district, 21 and be entitled to elect three senators.

The county of Somerset shall form the eighth district, 23 and be entitled to elect two senators.

The county of Piscataquis shall form the ninth district, 25 and be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Penobscot shall form the tenth district, 27 and be entitled to elect three senators.

The county of Lincoln shall form the eleventh district, 29 and be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Knox shall form the twelfth district, and 31 be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Waldo shall form the thirteenth district, 33 and be entitled to elect one senator.

The county of Hancock shall form the fourteenth district, 35 and be entitled to elect two senators.

The county of Washington shall form the fifteenth dis-37 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

The county of Aroostook shall form the sixteenth dis-39 trict, and be entitled to elect three senators.

• •

STATE OF MAINE.

IN SENATE, February 1, 1901.

· · · · ·

Reported by Mr. VIRGIN from Committee on Legislative Apportionment, and laid on table to be printed under joint rules. KENDALL M. DUNBAR, Secretary.