MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

SIXTIETH LEGISLATURE.

SENATE. No. 108.

The Majority of the Committee on Apportionment of Senators and Representatives, to which was referred the Order of the Legislature relating to a new apportionment of the State for Senators and Representatives, have had the same under consideration, and ask leave to report the accompanying resolve, entitled "Resolve to apportion the State for Senators to the Legislature."

- J. S. Berry, Henry C. Brewer, D. N. Mortland, E. L. Pattangall, J. Dingley, Jr.—Committee on part of the Senate.
- E. M. SHAW, JOHN BURNHAM, R. S. MAXCY, THOMAS SMITH, H. W. SARGENT, A. P. MORRILL, GEOBGE G. BENNER, CHARLES V. LORD, LEONARD HILTON, G. C. GOSS, A. F. ANDREWS, C. H. CUMMINGS, M. F. WENTWORTH—Committee on the part of the House.

STATE OF MAINE.

RESOLVE to apportion the state for senators to the legislature.

Resolved, That the sixty-first legislature and the succeed-

- 2 ing legislatures to and including the years one thousand
- 3 eight hundred and ninety-one and ninety-two, the state
- 4 be and hereby is divided into sixteen districts for the
- 5 choice of senators, and each district shall be entitled to
- 6 elect the number of senators herein provided, for the
- 7 term of ten years, in the manner prescribed by the con-
- 8 stitution, to wit:

The county of York shall form the first district, and be

- 2 entitled to elect three senators.
- 3 The county of Cumberland shall form the second dis-
- 4 triet, and be entitled to elect four senators.
- 5 The county of Oxford shall form the third district, and
- 6 be entitled to elect two senators.
- 7 The county of Androscoggin shall form the fourth dis-
- 8 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 9 The county of Franklin shall form the fifth district, and
- 10 be entitled to elect one senator.
- 11 The county of Sagadahoc shall form the sixth district,
- 12 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 13 The county of Kennebec shall form the seventh dis-
- 14 trict, and be entitled to elect three senators.

- 15 The county of Somerset shall form the eighth district,
- 16 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 17 The county of Piscataquis shall form the ninth district,
- 18 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 19 The county of Penobscot shall form the tenth district,
- 20 and be entitled to elect three senators.
- 21 The county of Lincoln shall form the eleventh district,
- 22 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 23 The county of Knox shall form the twelfth district,
- 24 and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 25 The county of Waldo shall form the thirteenth district,
- 26 and be entitled to elect one senator.
- 27 The county of Hancock shall form the fourteenth dis-
- 28 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 29 The county of Washington shall form the fifteenth dis-
- 30 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.
- 31 The county of Aroostook shall form the sixteenth dis-
- 32 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

STATE OF MAINE.

In SENATE, March 14, 1881.

Reported by Mr. MORTLAND, for the Majority of the Committee on the Apportionment of Senators and Representatives, laid on the table to be printed under the Joint Rules.

C. W. TILDEN, Secretary.