MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



131st MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2023

Legislative Document

No. 1350

H.P. 864

House of Representatives, March 28, 2023

An Act Regarding the Composition of the Budget Advisory Committee and the Finality of the Budget in the Franklin County Budget Process

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

ROBERT B. HUNT Clerk

R(+ B. Hunt

Presented by Representative LANDRY of Farmington.

 $Cosponsored \ by \ Representatives: HALL \ of \ Wilton, \ SOBOLESKI \ of \ Phillips.$

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- **Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §873, sub-§1,** as enacted by PL 1991, c. 495, is amended to read:
- 1. Municipal officers. Municipal officers within each commissioner district shall caucus and shall elect municipal officers from that district to fill vacancies as they arise, for terms as provided in paragraph $A \underline{B}$.
 - A. Members shall serve for 3-year terms, except that initially each district caucus shall select one member for a one-year term, one member for a 2-year term and one member for a 3-year term. There must be 3 members from each commissioner district. If a committee member ceases to be a municipal officer during the term of membership, the committee member shall resign the membership and the next district caucus shall elect a qualified municipal officer to fill the membership for the remainder of the unexpired term.
 - B. Each commissioner district has 2 permanent members. Members serve for 3-year terms. There is a rotating member who serves a one-year term, selected in 2025 by commissioner district one, selected in 2026 by commissioner district 2, selected in 2027 by commissioner district 3, selected in 2028 by commissioner district 4, selected in 2029 by commissioner district 5 and selected in 2030 and succeeding years in the same order as the first 5 years under this paragraph. If a committee member ceases to be a municipal officer during the term of membership, the committee member shall resign the membership and the next district caucus shall elect a qualified municipal officer to fill the membership for the remainder of the unexpired term.
- **Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §874, sub-§4,** as enacted by PL 1991, c. 495, is amended to read:
- **4. Finality of budget.** After the public hearing is completed, the advisory committee shall adopt a final budget and transmit that budget to the county commissioners. The county commissioners may not further increase, decrease, alter or revise the budget adopted by the advisory committee, except by unanimous a 3/5 vote of the entire membership of the county commissioners. If the adopted budget is changed by the county commissioners, the advisory committee may reject that change by a 2/3 vote of its membership. Those actions are final and are not subject to further action by either the county commissioners or the advisory committee.
- **Sec. 3. Franklin County Budget Advisory Committee initial terms.** Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 873, subsection 1, paragraph B, members of the Franklin County Budget Advisory Committee serve for 3-year terms, except initially commissioner districts one and 2 shall select one member for a one-year term and one member for a 2-year term, commissioner districts 3 and 4 shall select one member for a 2-year term and one member for a 3-year term and commissioner district 5 shall select one member for a one-year term and one member for a 3-year term.
 - **Sec. 4. Effective date.** This Act takes effect November 5, 2024.

SUMMARY

On November 5, 2024, current law changes the number of commissioner districts in
Franklin County from 3 districts to 5 districts. This bill changes the composition of the
Franklin County Budget Advisory Committee to reflect the change in commissioner
districts by changing the composition of the committee from 3 to 5 districts and from 3
members for each district serving 3-year terms to 2 permanent members for each district
serving 3-year terms and one rotating member serving a one-year term, with each district
selecting the rotating member for one year of the 5-year period. The bill also changes the
vote for the final adoption of the Franklin County budget from a unanimous vote to a 3/5
vote of the entire membership of the county commissioners. The legislation takes effect
November 5, 2024.